Banks Peninsula went through a series of ground shaking moments yesterday with a 4.8 lead in Diamond Harbour. Aftershocks nowadays are more about staying in the house waiting for things to get worst before a run-out-of-the-house reaction triggers.

That should also mark the end of winter cold, we had some long showers last week which dropped the temperature hard. Not to mention, cover spray for Brown rot did not go on until after the showers. But we promptly put it on after that, and fingers crossed all goes well. Driving the Carraro tractor wasn’t easy, it felt strange with a pivot steer. As the saying goes, avoid a branch, run into a tree, luckily no damage was done. Spraying the Hill Blocks wasn’t easy either, every time I’m going up hill I was cheering the tractor now. Reminds me of the time I was driving up a very steep path with my 1000cc small little car packed full of hiking backpacks to the roof.

Cherries are coming on into full swing. That’s our relatively young Lapins in the photo above, and the last of our cherries to be grown as multi-leader vase shape trees. We somehow like the single-leader Christmas tree shape better, which is easier to manage. The interesting bit is most of the articles I have read about tree-shaping has suggested Summerfruits to be prune to multi-leader vase.

At the Valley House, I’m preparing  0.01 hectare of the lawn to make way for my first patch of wildflowers. I’ve been asking Google to help me locate a small plough to work the soil but all Google can find me are some rotary hoes which are only good when you don’t have grass on top. In the end, the only way to get it done is by manually turning the soil upside down with a shovel, which I’ve been doing and treating it as part of my fitness routine. The next thing I’m going to do is to mow the rest of the lawn and spread the grass clippings onto the dug up soil, get a rotary hoe over it, get the irrigation system going again and the patch will be ready for seeds sowing. The objective is to convert the entire lawn facing the road to a field of wildflowers which would technically require minimal maintenance and remove the need for mowing at all.

I am also going to cultivate the little corner just beside the front door of the house which was previously infested with nettles. I’ve killed them all thorny little bushes. I was told that you can make herbal tea out of them and they are good for health. The only drawback is they are such a prick! On the other hand, I’m cultivating the corner to make way for a garden of mixed herbs.

This gardening project of mine is indeed gathering momentum and picking up speed. And its really easy because the idea is for everything to grow wild. How’s that for being organic?

