Talk about living life one day at a time. No matter how much you plan and prepare for something, something else can just happen in the dash of a moment and everything changes. However, you can’t just stop planning because failing to plan is planning to fail. This just calls for adaptability which the primary law of survival in nature. How well can you adapt?

Did I mention that PYO is starting on 19 Dec? Well, we advanced it to 14 Dec but opened our gate on the 13 Dec. Loyal PYO’ers are crashing our gates early and we just can’t hold them back anymore especially when the Rosann are dying to come off the trees into the mouth of our customers. We also borrowed the farm’s temporary fencing tools to put up tapes to keep the PYO’ers in the allocated areas. Of course, there’s always the cheeky ones that jump over the fence just like the lambs in the valley and we have to herd them back to the allowed area. As the saying goes, the cherries on the other side of the fence are better.

This year’s contract picking is limited to a week compared to previous year which goes on for weeks. We pick, then we pack, then it rain, and we call in the chopper. Then we pick, and we pack again. Mayfire nectarines, May Crest peaches and Sonnet, Primavera, Rosann cherries. Tomorrow, we will be getting the first of the Golden Wairata apricots off the tree. I am just grateful that the team held together for this odd year which is a complete divergence of past years.

Its my first time taking a ride in a chopper, its very exciting for the first half an hour at most, but when all you do is hovering slowly above the cherry trees for one and a half hour, it became so boring I almost dozed off. I am sure I will be going down the rows faster if I am on a tractor! The chopper is like a giant blow dryer that helps to blow away the water that is sitting at the top and bottom of the cherries to avoid them from cracking.

Birds and rain are the worst nightmare for cherry orchards. And you can’t shoot them wood pigeons! A reverse rain dance doesn’t work either.

I’ve been working 7 days straight now. Even though in my position I do not have to exert a lot of physical energy, but the amount of mental energy that goes into it does makes it as challenging, if not more, than all the white collar roles that I have had. As the saying goes, we prepare for an entire year for this short burst of insane madness.

I am just glad that I can spend some time in the evening to work on the tucker patch which requires a lot of my attention. My mustards have double in height in a week completely blocking off the sprinklers. I trimmed them back and also plant out the rest of the brussels sprouts that are meant to go in. Hopefully, I will have some time tomorrow to put in more asparagus. And just waiting for a good time to put in my thai chilli, bell peppers, and basil.

I did an experiment in germinating brussels sprouts because I have serious issues with them. I germinated them in three different settings, one in the house where they go into the hot water cupboard at night while they sit on the dining table during the day for sun light, another one goes into my mini green house on the patio, and finally, one that goes into Grant’s proper green house. The outcome shows preference for Grant’s proper green house which exhibits a strong short stalk and plenty of root growth, and the worst is the one I germinated in the house which became very leggy probably due to the lack of sun light. Somehow Grant’s proper green house allows the jiffy pellets to go longer before drying out compared to the ones in my mini green house, which might be due to the volume of air in a confined space. I already have a plan to address this, which I will work on in winter.

Life goes on, see you in a week.

