The demand of the harvest season had resulted in much neglect in my own garden. Some undesired weeds are coming up in my tucker patch… Stinging nettles and thistles… How did they get there? Hopefully I will be able to do a thorough weeding job tomorrow after work. Its an ideal time for weeding according to the moon calendar from NZ Gardener. I’ve got a torpedo hoe, a 3 tyne cultivator, now I just need to add a swan neck hoe to my lot of tools to choose from. I also find that a flat-headed screwdriver is very useful to remove weeds selectively. Just poke it straight down beside the target weed, wiggle wiggle then lever it out, which minimize soil area disturbance.

The soil of the tucker patch wasn’t as great as I thought it would be. The plan for coming autumn is to pile on bags after bags after bags of organic compost, fork it into the ground and sow blue lupin as a winter manure. Then will also be the time to improve on the irrigation system and also to section out areas intended for permanent beneficial ground covers as well as areas for cultivation. Half of the asparagus have kissed goodbye, and same goes to half of the brussels sprouts. The corns are doing well, and so are the chili and peppers as well as basil. My peach tree and cherry tree have forgiven me for transplanting them in late spring and started to go crazy with growing. I can foresee my permanent ground cover as a mix of mustard, clover, lupin, rue, and pyrethrum.

There’s also plans for some biodynamic influence in the garden. I am highly likely to be applying Preparation 500 and CPP this autumn and next spring. In my own garden, I am going to start making my own compost, which involves a DIY compost bin made of 200l drum, modified for easy removal, aeration, and possum-proof. In it goes grass clippings and pruning wastes, dead animals (I’ve got myself a very powerful air rifle), and biodynamic weeds harvested according to the biodynamic method.

Progress on the greenhouse front has been frustrating. My second greenhouse which is a mini 5 tier unit almost made my day, except yesterday, my plants at the top tier got baked even with the flap completely folded up. I am now no longer utilizing the top tier. I know exactly the source of the issue. Volume. This I learned from my aquarium hobby. The smaller the tank, the easier your fish dies due to the higher and more drastic fluctuation of water quality. Or, take it like farting in a lift as compare to farting in the middle of a hotel lobby. I saw some larger walk-in unit on the Bunnings spam mailer… I will be checking it out this Friday. That won’t be the end of it, as generally these units don’t have vents, and the only way to vent is to open up a big hole aka the main flap, which means reduced moisture conservation which translates to drying out, that’s more frequent watering, and more risk for damping off disease as well as poor root development. My solution? I am going to build a door and a frame over the opening of the walk-in unit, with bottom half sealed with plastic sheet, and the top half with windbreak cloth. This means there’s ventilation for hot air to escape the greenhouse to prevent over heating. I’ve also got mini solar powered fan to help with air movement.

The only thing that has really worked out this season, was what I started out when I got myself into gardening. My wildflowers meadow is just amazing! It’s what I would call a chaotic perfection.

