I spy a new 3 meter greenhouse~ But I have not decided where to put it yet.

I am very pleased that we have at least 20mm of rain last week.

This is a busy weekend at the Orchard Cottage. Yesterday, I dragged the lawnmower all over the wildflowers meadow. Neighbors on the hill thought that I went crazy.

The end results wasn’t that bad, this should kick the decomposition process into full gear. I read about this from Peter Bennett’s book that you can use a lawnmower as a mulcher. I might go through it with a line trimmer next week as well. Now, I just have to head to Mitre10 to get hold on some new sprinkler heads because I accidentally mulched them as well. It would also be a good time to upgrade all the riser pipe from 30cm to 45cm. I will start sowing more seeds starting next month with sowing spread out over 3 months.

That’s the olive and nut trees I planted last week. Hopefully I won’t be spending anymore money on trees from now on. Though, yesterday I got the urge to get my hands on Peacherine, Peachcot, and Plumcot. The idea sprung up when Cory and I was talking about leaf curl and I thought of Peachcot as a possible alternative since Apricot doesn’t get leaf curl. I hereby put the stake in the ground that these man-made cross are not coming to Orchard Cottage, but possibly into Block 1.

This is my charcoal cage seating on top of a pile of grass that I pulled out of the wildflowers meadow. The wild idea of the cage is to harvest charcoal with a 13mm wire mesh box. I tipped the bucket of leftovers from the log burner into the box, the ash and smaller pieces will fall through to the decomposing grass. As grass are mainly nitrogen, the smaller pieces of charcoal that fall through the mesh will enhance the C:N ratio of the compost heap. Plus the ash which is mainly of potassium and sulfur. When the box is full, I’ll just lift it up, have the charcoal ready for some really wild stuff. Charcoal rhymes really well with Cow Pat Pit.

 

The controlled demolition of mustard cover is finally done and over with today. The blue lupins will now have their chance to grow, and some weeds too. The idea here is to co-create with Mother Nature, if she decides to introduce some weeds, she must have her rationale, and thus I will leave the weeds alone, unless they decide to sting or prick me, then I will cut them at the base and allow them to compost in situ. On my part, I have also selected a range of perennial and annual plants that I wanted to introduce, and this will be done on a monthly sowing from August onward. However, it will be up to Mother Nature to decide which of the varieties I have selected is suitable for the balance and which are not and thus naturally eliminated.

 

Spot the Asparagus Sweet Purple coming up next to Oriental Sno Pea. I grow them from seed last season and buried it as the base before I raised the bed. They were extras and I didn’t really expect them to come through. They will be ready for eating next Spring.

Behold the wild Alpine Strawberry! They are tiny berry smaller than a raspberry. Its not fully ripe yet, maybe next week.

