Yesterday was frustrating. The gust started on Friday night with at least 16 knots and up to 27 knots, and it went on and on through to Saturday evening. All the while, I silently glanced at my greenhouse, being trashed by the wind. It hold fast in its place, thanks to 4 aluminium stakes hammered into the ground at the corners, and a wooden frame for the door which is supported against the wall of the cottage by a beam. The wind is smarter than that, knowing that it can’t blow the greenhouse away, it decides to start ripping the plastic covers apart. There’s now tear holes in the plastic covers, the wind knows that it works, and it will try and finish the job the next time it regains its strength. As for me, I’ll just have to start planning for a more grandeur design for next season when this season ends. And possibly plant a native shelter in the paddock opposite the cottage.

The lovely buds of Apple Calville Blanc D Hiver. It appears that this year I will have 9 apples and 4 pears in pots. The other pear I failed to mentioned in my last post is Pear Louise Bon Jersey (1780). And another lesson learned, fruit trees doesn’t like to travel by mail order when they are not dormant. I foliar-ed them with Seasol and Neem Oil to help remedy the consequences.

The Santa Rosa Plum in the tucker patch seems to be recovering gently from the aphid infestation. I gave it a light spray of Neem Oil with soap. It appears to be the only fruit plant having an aphid problem then. However, I just spotted a group of large juicy green aphids on the Climbing Rose Lydia. Them being full adult size suggests that they have been there for quite a while! I will have to deal with that soon but I wasn’t too worry about it because the rose is surrounded by flowering Mustard and Blue Lupin. There’s bound to be more hungry insect-eating-insect around!

2kgs of Comfrey roots were buried in the tucker patch, as well as a border around the wildflowers meadow yesterday. These deep rooted plants help to mine Potassium from the subsoil just like how Dandelions mine Calcium.

Broad Beans have set pods despite of the previous frosty events! The next challenge would be to figure out when they are ripe for harvest. How do you eat broad beans? Do you eat them whole with the pod or just the beans? Hmmm… Have I even ate broad beans before? That’s how clueless I am…

I sprayed Bio Dynamic P508 this morning, I was supposed to do it on Friday but the preparations did not arrived till yesterday. And later on, P500 and CPP in the evening. That is the full moon routine. Then, P501 on the morning  before Moon goes into opposition of Saturn.

We are also monitoring for Leaf Curl in the orchard among the Peach and Nectarine trees. At first glanced, either our prevention sprays are very well timed and effective or the disease pressure was low this season. Previous seasons, this time, we will be going around with a plastic bag collecting curly leaves and emptying them into drums for incineration. My first year in the orchard was quite a nightmare, but that helped me to develop an eye for early signs of leaf curl so that I can promptly remove the infected leaves.

Tomatillo, they sound so cute and cool. That got me into trying to grow them this season as well, and I just have to find a place to stick them in. I am growing 2 varieties from Kings Seeds, Tomatillo Grande Verde and Tomatillo Purple. I don’t even know what I am going to do with them, but I will figure out when the fruits are ripe. I heard that Salsify Black Scorzonera taste like oyster, I like oyster, so I am going to stick them in as well. And radish too, just out of curiosity, radish seems familiar, I also wonder if I have ate them before.

I planned for this season, yet I am not entirely following the plan as I kept adding varieties to it! The plan did not have Jerusalem Artichokes. Nor 3 varieties of corn. Nor tomatillos. Nor salsify. Nor swedes. Nor radish. And definitely did not planned for the 13 pip fruits in pots!

I can only attribute this to racing against time. To try to make up for all the gardening experience that I missed out in the past quarter century of my life. I am loving it!

Caesar killed the stuffed rabbit and ripped its guts out. I set him out on the sheep almost every evening so that he can round them up and chase them into another paddock. He is getting better at it. It is really fun for a non-shepherd to observe his lovely pet dog doing this kind of thing.

p/s, had my mind on a lot of blueberry plants~

