We have started the pick your own season at the orchards. It was absolute mayhem. People seems to be mentally challenged in reading signs. Or appreciate the fact that food is scarce and should not be thoughtlessly discarded. At the end of the first day, the orchard floor is littered with cherries! I was so disgusted and I am still very  disgusted now. What has humanity done upon itself?

Camera 360

Well, at least those people figured out how to park their cars in the paddock. Despite them not using the planned path on occasion. There’s always a first time for everything, so we just put up more signage. If people can’t read arrows and symbols, they can read words. If they can’t do that either, they should really not be driving.

Anyway, we have ran out of ripe cherries. These hungry people cleaned us out. We have to shut the gate for a couple of days so that the next variety have time to ripen up for the picking. Ripe cherry makes happy customers. Ripe cherry weighs more too! However, it has always amused me to see people pick unripe dark cherries thinking they were picking white cherries. That’s for not picking in the designated area!

Camera 360

My yoghurt finally made it, after the 3rd try! I use the Natren Yoghurt Starter which makes traditional Bulgarian-style yoghurt. I use it on raw organic milk. And add my Bio Dynamic strawberries into it along with honey. That’s wholesome goodness 😉

Camera 360

At the Orchard Cottage, the Summer has brought in rapid growth. The tomatoes and potatoes growing alongside each other in the cloche bed are doing really well. I started the potatoes quite early, and used the cloche to protect them from frost. A lesson learned about planting out tomatoes and peppers is to wait until after show day, as long as I have them in a pretty large bag to grow in. And did someone say something about not growing tomatoes and potatoes together? I am taking a risk here, but I figure if my potatoes are coming out of the ground by Christmas, I don’t really have much to worry about.

Camera 360

The corns and beans are doing really well too! In my ignorance, I did not sow the beans a week or two later than the corns. Now the beans are looking for something to cling on to… Air. The corns are growing really well though. Early Gem definitely going for it, so much vigour. I am very keen on developing open pollinated cross between Early Gem with Rainbow Inca and Silver Platinum which will give it more flavor, and yet have a shorter sowing to harvesting period which is very ideal for the local climate.

Camera 360

The roses are infested by aphids. Every single one of them. They give me the chills up the spine. I have never seen such mad infestation before. Disease resistance, old world, David Austin, doesn’t make a difference, still covered with aphids. I’ve done a neem soap spray in the evening yesterday followed by a neem oil spray this morning. Tomorrow morning I am likely going to do a soil drench with Seasol, in hope the seaweed will help give the roses a booster.

There will be no picture of Caesar today as he is becoming very famous. The customers just love him and his picture is probably all over some Chinese version of Facebook by now.

 

 

