I have the intention of writing a book before I die. That was made in my 2012 Resolution. Today, I have the likely title of the book. Strange Happenings at PYO Cherry Orchards. No, I don’t think that’s a very good title. We’ll have to work on it. This book is going to start off with how I ended up in an orchard, from an office cubicle. Among other things, the very strange antics of our PYO customers, which to me makes no logical sense, and quite irrational, and amusing! So much that, its really worth writing a memoirs about it!

This season is a mix lot. We crop less than 3 tonnes per hectare in most blocks. Spring 2012 is cold, wet, hail, frosty, through and through. I heard they reported on the news that crop in Central Otago was devastated. Here comes the Summerfruit famine! We keep running out of cherries for our PYO customers and had to shut the gate during the week days. As usual, customers don’t seem to be in the know about the scarcity involved, and continues to complain about the price, and of course, the wasteful behavior persists. I told Grant that we seems to be defying the laws of demand and supply. How in the world, that when demand outstrip supply, that we can maintain our cut-our-own-throat price? Makes no business sense to me.

Camera 360

These are Rainier, they are known as white cherries, or apple cherries. They are a sucker a rain cracks. They crack when they are still green. It is almost impossible to grow them without losing half to rain cracks. However, this year, we grew our best ever Rainier ever. Voluptuous , sexily blushed, and crack-free! There’s no Vaporgard involved. Despite the bravado, our customers decided that they like dark cherries better, so they picked bucketfuls of them and discard them on the ground. More reason to write a book.

I am in-charge of counting cash too. To me, these are just paper, and little round flat things. Every passing moment, these numbers depreciates in value. Eventually, there will be no value to them. It amazes me that my very expensive college degree taught us about Fiat money as a matter of fact, without highlighting the potential dire consequences it can do to the global economy. The lecturer goes like, “this is how Fiat money works, and what I am going to tell you now, is exactly what I want you to write in your final exam”.

Ok, enough of the pretty depressing stuff. No one would consciously like to read about depressing stuff.

Camera 360

Let’s talk about abundance! That’s the Lapins in Block 6. These multi-leaders trees were given the chainsaw pruning this Spring, after a year of don’t-know-what-to-do-with-them. They bear so heavily that we are kicking ourselves in the nuts *I wonder how* that we pulled out most of them and only have 4 rows left. The single-leader trees in Block 14 were doing just as well, but not as impressive. But Lapins and their frost resistant flowers never fails thoroughly. The large dark red fruit could weigh more than 10g each! These are probably cropping at least 10 tonnes per hectare. Now, is to keep the birds out.

Camera 360

Back at the Orchard Cottage, the 2 sisters plan are working out just fine. Corns are going for it, and the climbing beans are climbing everything!

Camera 360

Tomato Indigo Rose from Kings Seeds, I thought these would be a disappointment. But viola! First to set fruit! And darkest tomatoes I have ever seen in my entire existence. Not bad, my first year growing tomatoes, and my first year growing them outdoors. I wonder what challenges may bring.

Camera 360

Without realizing it, my trinity plots are ready for harvest. This, I am sure is a radish of some kind. Next, I just have to figure out how to eat it. Call me the clueless gardener who tries to grow everything but don’t know what to do with them.

Camera 360

Calville Blanc d’Hiver, this apple from the 1500s is among the apples that have the highest Vitamin C content. I believe, enough to keep the doctor away. I can’t wait to sink my teeth into one! However, I don’t really know how to tell if an apple is ripe…

I wish I have some photos of the strawberries to share. However, I managed to eat all of them. If I do share any photos, it would be quite brown and unrecognizable. I find myself foraging in my own garden almost every evening, for strawberries! I also got my hands on some white alpine strawberries! I have the red alpine strawberries, these tiny little things have such amazing flavors I am always on the lookout for them.

Camera 360

I love Caesar. I love him even more when he do his Chinese smile, the one that the eyes goes missing. Whenever I get too caught up in life, all I need to do is learn from him, always living in the moment, pouncing on the ball, digging a hole in the garden for his bones, chewing up things, and barking at imaginary things at night! Caesar taught me a lot about living in the present 😉

