Yesterday, it was 36.1dCelcius hot at 6:28pm. I was out in the garden working the sweat off. We have not had a good rain for a white now, I could use some 25mm of rain this week please. The farm pivot irrigators were going for it non-stop, the grass right beneath the pivot were grass green, but as the pivot moved on, it left a trail of brown, before it comes back and paints them green again. The good news, on my unirrigated lawn, the grass don’t grow that quickly, less mowing.

Camera 360

Wind, we have plenty of that. 32.4 knots gust midnight Thursday made big rips in the greenhouse and left 2 pots laying on its side. Wind and heat, also means fire. We could actually smell it in the air, it s very familiar smell to the annual haze situation we have back home thanks to massive open burning from a neighboring country. The greenhouse will last for this season and make way for a grand design in Autumn.

Camera 360

Finally finish planting out the brussels sprouts. 16 plants in total. 8 of green, 8 of red. I might snuck some leeks in between them as companion. I hope I will get to harvest some sprouts this season, last year was truly disappointing.

Camera 360

This is a very interesting sweetcorn. Silver Platinum from Koaanga Gardens. The plant has got a reddish hue to it, and its flowers are red!

Camera 360

The corn and climbing beans companion planting is working. Very well. So well, that the climbing beans are climbing up everything.

Camera 360

And the dwarf beans are doing their thing as well.

Camera 360

Look at this hail hammered dwarf tomato. It is only 15cm high. It is going to produce dwarf cherry tomatoes.

Camera 360

That’s one thing we have plenty of, garlic! I planted enough to last me a year, and more! Now, I just have to learn how to braid them into dainty little hanging decorations.

Camera 360

Woot! I use the line trimmer to eat the wild grass and flower meadow into the ground, twice, then push the lawnmower through it. I am planning a forest garden, guild planting, and low growing wildflowers as cover, with a mowed path perhaps.

