I’ve been out and about lately. Been traveling around the Southern half of South Island the past couple of weeks with my parents and sister from home. Its an amazing experience. The diversity of landscape is just stunning, vast farmlands, then rain forest, etc etc. There’s no tangible words to describe, you just got to go and experience it yourself.

Camera 360

I also found out that my 23 year old car is more intelligent than it looks. The power window actually works within minutes of turning ignition off and pulling the keys out. Good for people who always forget to wind up their window before they stop the engine. One of the doors has a knack of auto-locking after you open the door. But its a really mean car maneuvering all that crazy steep roads of NZ. I didn’t even know it will survive the trip, but given that it has, I think I can sell the car at a profit some time in the future. Guess what? I managed to lost one of the wheel cap again, this time, for good, in Paradise, the land of sand flies.

Camera 360

My garden greeted me with abundance when I came back. At night, possums greeted me with their devilishly red eyes up in the trees, they thought Caesar and I was gone for good and they can have all the tomatoes and strawberries for themselves. There’s no real sign of drought in my garden too! NZ is going to be in drought soon, given the mediocre rainfall of 0.6mm this morning, and nothing more.

Camera 360

As for the orchard, its over. I will be there for it when the final and last tree gets lifted out of the ground and thrown into the bonfire. Pulling the orchard out is the easy part, deconstructing the vineyard on the other hand will be challenging. Its interesting that there are contractors in OZ that does decommissioning but not in NZ. Our loss, is everyone’s loss. PYO cherry orchard is a rarity in this region, and our exit will create a big hole in the market, our customers will have one less avenue to get good fresh cherries for Christmas.

I have an interesting conversation with my mum during the trip. Its about how naive the society has become. The pursuit for cold hard cash, and forgetting about the root cause of living. What if one day, the farmer refuse to sell you his crop regardless of how much you are willing to pay him? You are screwed. The shutting of this orchard is just an example. Think about food resilience. Life skills, a skill that many has forgone in the pursuit of cash.

Our future remains unwritten. But one thing is for sure, I will never buy anything from Mrs Jones Fruit Stall again!

Camera 360

