I love working in my garden. I envisioned what it can be and set out getting it there. My muscles may be sore at the end of the day, but I am definitely not tired! Its a feeling of accomplishment. Especially when the garden stops looking like a lawn with mere native hedges planted around it.

Have you ever had corn in a cup? I have almost never seen one in NZ. I like my corns in a cup, then I can touch other things without making a sticky mess and have corn at the same time.

Camera 360

I planted the Lemon Meyer out in the heat trap corner, and took the Lemon Yen Ben out in a pot instead. I bought the Yen Ben when it was about 120cm high, but it ran into some mite trouble and suffered, badly. So, I gave it a drastic prune back and pot it up, indoors, protected from the elements. The fruit from this plant is acidic enough to be used for preservation unlike Meyer.

Camera 360

Perennial peppers! I have never had a good size plant before as I have always planted them outdoors in the open. And there’s always something interesting to try with them. Like, over-winter them indoors. The plan is to cut them down to 3 buds, and keep them at about 2 leaf or so through winter. Might get a head start for the season. A bit like an induced hibernation.

Camera 360

 

Save seeds for tomatoes. The 2 big red ones are the wild tomatoes for rootstock. From this year’s harvest, I find out my preference is for medium-small to cherry tomatoes. Ping pong ball size is just perfect! Though, the big yellow one is Dagma’s Perfection, a Koanga heirloom variety, so I will be keeping that on as well. There’s also the Oaxacan Jewel and Black Cherry which I will also be growing next season.

Camera 360

I was dealing to the aphids on my brussels sprouts and roses with neem oil when I come upon this. I have never seen a praying mantis in nature before! And to see one in my garden totally made my day! But praying mantis vs aphids? Its a bit of an overkill really.

Camera 360

If you like sunflowers. This is the most cutest ever. The fluffy thing. Sure glad I took a picture of it this morning, its pouring down right now. The dry spell has finally been broken. Just in time, I have mulched all the newly planted trees in the forest garden. The rain will give the soil a good drink, germinate some dormant seeds, which I will kill off before I put the rotary hoe through and then sow a low growing blend of wildflowers.

Camera 360

Chili! In Chinese, we call this pointing sky chili. Its really hot. I finally have some to add to my home cooking.

Camera 360

Caesar is back! He is always around. He is not allowed to be out around the garden unsupervised lately because he figured out a way to escape, and roam the lands beyond…

 

 

