51mm of rain! That wasn’t too bad. It helped to germinate the little seeds on the floor of my forest garden, which I then happily spray off. Now, I have to wait for the next big rainfall and I will be out scattering seeds of a low growing blend of wildflowers. A wildflowers meadow is nice, but if you are tired as heck after waddling through to the middle of it, its quite tiresome.

Camera 360

When you neglect your strawberry patch. You get giant strawberries!

Camera 360

 

When you neglect your vege patch. You get giant beetroots and radish! I am going to pickle those beetroots. Yum! I love pickled beetroots! And that giant radish is now in the oven turning into crispy baked radish chips. Red carrots going to be dinner tonight. And I will need to identify those beans before I know what to do with them.

Camera 360

I start cleaning out the Summer crop, most of the tomatoes bite the dust, except for this. Indigo Rose. This variety gave me the benefit of the doubt, I thought it was a sissy variety, but now its the last man standing. I’ll grow it again next year, grafted onto a wild tomato rootstock.

Camera 360

 

The most cutest sunflower I have ever grown just became the most cutestest sunflower I have ever grown.

Camera 360

 

I learned my lesson with bell peppers. I am going for the mini peppers next season instead of the full size ones. My climate here just seem to be not conducive enough. What do I need? A heated greenhouse will be nice, not just a greenhouse. I’m growing the Pepper Jingle Belles from Kings Seeds next season.

On the other hand. Planning for chooks next season, I need a chook house, with a walk-in enclosed run, and an elevated coop, so that when it floods, all the chooks need to do is to perch it out in the coop. I can either have a $700 one, that house 10-12 chickens, that fits all the requirement, or a $200 one, that I will need to put it on stilts to sit it higher, and DIY a walk-in run, and that fits 6 chickens.

I am only planning to have 6 chooks. A Wyandotte rooster which is of a heavy breed. An Araucana hen which even though is of a light breed, still makes a reasonable table bird, and goes broody. The other hens, Ancona, Campine, Hamburg, and Minorca. All these are selected not because they lay heaps of eggs, but because they are good foragers. I plan to have some for the roast too, which is to cross the Wyandotte with the Araucana. I am particularly interested in Minorca because it does large size eggs, extra like.

When the new fencing is done, I will start grown preparation on that side as well. Chicken greens, and herbal ley. A feijoa hedge.

That’s it for now, going to try out my crispy radish chips!

 

 

 

