Goodness gracious, Mother Nature heed my call and decided to be good on me today! I labored in the garden from sun rise to sun down, dedication, determination, insanity, whatever you call it.

Camera 360

The cherry trellis was built on Monday standing at about 2 meters high. It runs 4 meters along and has a t-bar at the top spanning 1.2 meters wide. Netting can then be easily draped over the whole thing and keep the birds out. I’ve planted a Dawson on edabriz interstem in there, and I’ll be planting a Lapin on edabriz interstem next to it. I plan to plant one or two comfrey beneath, creeping rosemary, lavender, calendula, and some other beneficial plants. Perhaps a drift of hardneck garlic bulbs too!

There’s this thing about planting bulbs beneath deciduous trees as a beneficial groundcover that looks good. I’ve decide to take it a step further. Bunching onions, hardneck garlic, anything that is allium and divides, will be going in. Growing from seed, they will be cheaper too, compared to the rather pricey but dashing spring bulbs. Will it work? Wait and see. That, also sent me on TradeMe bidding on all the hardneck garlics like Kakanui, Roja, Serpent…

Camera 360

I built this today. Its still a work in progress. I still need to install the roof structure, and the support on the side. Yet, I’m quite amazed at how sturdy it is already. Then there’s the door to build. Then to wrap the whole thing up in mikroclima. It is also raised by 30cm, with all round 60cm wide beds. The floor will be covered with river stones which are dark color and will hopefully help with heating. I might consider building my own chicken coop after I’m done with this project. There seems to be no stopping me.

Camera 360

What’s the rest of the garden doing? The corn is dying down, a rather natural process process instead of being chopped down. It just wasn’t on my priority list really. Furthermore, the nasturtium is having a good time beneath. Hopefully they will last, until some hard frost come along. Hopefully they will self seed too! I’m still waiting for the brussels sprouts to come along, remind me to plant them somewhere with afternoon shade next time, please.

Camera 360

The Orchard Cottage is expanding! As usual, expansion happens in a non-organic way. I personally find Glyphosate a cost efficient and effective herbicide, and a user-friendly one. Trust me on that from all the weed spraying experience in the orchard and vineyard. Sure, there’s organic ones around, but they just don’t pack the punch. By the way, I’m not paid to write this by the chemical big brothers. The good news is that from the ruins of the Glyphosate, the beautiful garden of eden will emerge. Just wait for it.

Camera 360

Caesar inspecting the property. Too many thistles, he says. The far side will be chook paradise. Note I have the fencing post at 2m high with netting at 90cm only, the idea is to fix up windbreak all along to reduce the cold Southerlies. There will also be a shelter belt of Manuka and Tagaste Tree Lucerne. The far end will be for the chooks, so the shelter belt over there will have some hedgerow addition like quince, crab apple, sour cherry, and fig. The chook house will have an additional feijoa hedge for shelter. I also plan to plant 2 macadamia trees in there somewhere frost free, as Caesar will not be able to access it and poison himself. An avocado tree will go in behind the sleepout on the far side by the new gate, yes, I’ve got an extra gate to this tiny property! Citrus trees like mandarin, orange, and grapefruit will go also behind the house, maybe behind those pittosporum and bath in the hot afternoon sun.

That’s all for now, my dinner just came out of the oven. Any idea how to make sure Caesar don’t kill the chooks?

 

 

 

 

 

