We had a close call with Jack Frost last night. The temperature dropped to 0.9dCelcius just after night fall where the thermometer is set at near chest high. In the greenhouse, overnight low is at 1.1dCelcius at the surface of the raised beds which is 30cm above the ground. That’s very interesting, I will continue to monitor the temperature and see how much gain I am getting from the greenhouse effect. The peas I sow in the greenhouse is loving it, starting to push off now. Too late to sow peas?

Camera 360

And so they say, too late to plant trees too! And the make up of my fence line planting… Kanuka, Manuka and  Tree Lucerne, which have borderline frost tolerance when young. I have also got some pretty hardy Acacia, Toe Toe and Cabbage Tree! I have picked out the smallest of Acacia and Eucalyptus to close up the gap by the road. The Eucalyptus will have to go in next year after show day as they seem to be very susceptible to frost when really really young. The planting of the South fence is quite a planned randomness, that goes like this. K T M T M K M K T T M K M K T K T M M K T T K M M T K M TT M C M TT M C M TT M. No straight line, not really.

Camera 360

How then, do I deal with Jack the frost? The combi guard will do a bit of the work, hopefully. And then mulch generously with barley straw, mulch like a mound, and scatter a few strands over the top like a blanket. Seaweed spray. And a Homeopathy silica spray as well. I will nurse them through the Winter with weekly seaweed spray.

Camera 360

I have even setup the irrigation! Who needs to irrigate in Winter? I could have procrastinate on that till Spring. Guess not. I need to get the ground ready, and I just fertigated seaweed and Mycorrcin to get the soil life a boost after the past few weeks of Glyphosate. The blend will help the newly planted plants establish themselves faster too.

On a side note, the drip lines are really cool, now I can drip the entire forest garden in one go. I will be changing my tucker patch at the North fence to either drip lines or leaky hose next. That way, I only need to separate out the irrigation to 2 sections, one for the forest garden, and one for the vege beds and greenhouse, strawberry patch which is now on leaky hose, and tucker patch.

Camera 360

I saw this chicken tree house in a book. I am very tempted to build one, just out of novelty. However, base on my level of carpentry, and the more than occasional gusty situation out here, there’s a 1001 reason not to do it. Plus, its more form than function really. But I would really like to implement some of the design features into my own chook house, especially that flight of stairs.

On the poultry side of things, I’ve got the chicken grass in the mail yesterday and have proceeded to sow them today, as blend with mixed grains, crimson clovers, lucerne, blue lupins. Why? Just because I have packets of them sitting in the fridge doing nothing but keeping cool. Plus, the chooks would probably appreciate the added diversity in their foraging.

Camera 360

 

Expecting more cold weather to come, I’ve put the blanket onto the lemon and lime. Slightly modify it this time by not covering it all the way down. This way, I can still access the fruits without taking out the frost cloth.

Camera 360

 

I have discovered why my cherry rootstocks are all on the ground!

Camera 360

 

Caesar has decided to be a goat! Good news now that I don’t have to worry about the flood because Caesar knows how to get to high ground on his own.

 

 

