I can feel the Winter weighing in. When the body just don’t feel like doing much anymore, and the mind, is behaving just like the mind, as usual. In tune to that, I’m keeping up with my weekly seaweed foliar spray which also gives me the opportunity to make sure all the plants are still alive and well.

Some plants are really reluctant to go dormant. The Santa Rosa plum especially, but finally I can see the changed in the foliage, Winter is here, better drop them leaves quickly. The flowering plum too, quite reluctant, they didn’t go dormant at all last Winter after the possums ravaged the foliage. Mother apple, is still holding on to its foliage too, given that it is after all just beside the patio. I hope I will be able to establish 2 levels of espalier next season.

Camera 360

A week ago.

Camera 360

Now. How they have grown!

Camera 360

Curly kale and rainbow chard. I’ve also sown Broccoli Precoce Romanesco¬†towards the edge, yet to come up.

Camera 360

 

I did a shoddy job planting out those Onions PKLK seedlings. I pretty much yank them off the punnet and shove them into the bed, leaving a lot of roots behind. They were laying down sideways for quite a while before they finally find their feet again. Sprouting broccoli among them too!

Camera 360

I don’t really recall what I have sown in there… Those are definitely dwarf peas, Petit Provencal. Maybe more Onion PKLK, Leek Carentan Giant, Beetroot Chioggia, and something… Red Mesclun Mix! It’s mainly from whatever is left over from my seed bank.

Camera 360

 

These are mainly new batch of seeds. Asparagus Pea, Kale Cavolo Nero, Chicory Sugarloaf. I think that was it. My memory is poor, and poorer if I have not had them written down somewhere.

Camera 360

That tiny seedling there, is a Black Salsify.

This week is more of a shopping week. I’ve to get all my Winter gear. New boots as my existing one sounded like the ones that little baby wears, goes squeak squeak squeak wherever I walk. Winter pants, apparently a pair of jeans is not really that Winter-proof. Another base layer, when one base layer is not enough, layer it up. Electric blanket, this is the killer, I’ve got a queen bed, so I got a queen size blanket, it came up 2 individual controller, and the element is split up, so you can’t control the entire blanket with 1 controller. Now, what should I do when I am sleeping in the middle of the bed? I’ve also got the slow cooker coming in the mail. And the Good Nature Possum Euthanizer. My new old car also got a new set of speakers fitted, and sounded much better, it still look stock, which is fine by me, lower risk of broken windows.

I’ve also spotted some really ragged looking Blueberry plants marked down at Bunnings, from $19 to $5, that’s a bargain. I picked up 2 of the only Blueberry Blue Magic. There’s a Tasty Blue but it looks like its already gone beyond the point of no return, I definitely don’t want to sell my soul to the devil in order to bring it back to life. There’s also plenty of Blueberry Blue Muffin, unfortunately that is a Northern Highbush variety and I am only looking for Rabbiteye. If you are in for a bargain, those plants are at Bunnings Tower Junction.

There’s also a change in my poultry plan. I’ve decided to hold off from chooks and just stick to Muscovy ducks, 1 male and 2 females for the time being. I simply do not have the time to deal with them based on my new work schedule. Ducks, on the other hand are quite low maintenance. I’ll get a tray of water for them to bath in, they can have Caesar’s old kennel. And I’ll just fence off the area that I intended for the chooks. Easy! Get a couple of 150cm Y Post, whack them into the ground, and some cheap fencing, all done. I’ve already got the gates, so I’ll just need to get the gudgeons.

I’m no longer getting Macadamia nut trees too. Instead, I’ll be having a Avocado Hass and Avocado Bacon coming my way, and they will be over-Wintering in the greenhouse.

Camera 360

I don’t want to risk Caesar poisoning himself from the Macadamia.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

