Weather bomb. That’s what they call it. Its suppose to rain snow like hell freezes over. It got people into panic shopping stripping supermarket shelves of bread and milk. It got me to drop $199 on a pair of snow chains for my car too, I never needed one, buy hey, better be safe than sorry. Instead, what we get is more rain, and that got me eyeing the river flow chart warily. The very placid Kaituna River came to life early this week, just short of causing a scene. Now, without the promised snow, its spiking again, and dropping, and spiking again… This is my 4th winter here in this valley, and this is the first time I have encounter such weather phenomenon in June. Looking at the weather map, I’m just glad that all this will officially be over by midnight, and then comes the frost.

Kaituna Riverflow 130622

 

The river is hanging out at about that level. Small streams have started to form around the gullies bringing water down from the hills. How do they cross the road? Well, they cross the road by crossing the road. The mikroclima netting on my front fence is officially damned to be replaced, and I’ll get on to that with proper windbreak this time, leftover from my previous project. It also warms the heart that the council planned to open Lake Ellesmere to the sea to drain the water. Care on SH75 as there’s some surface flooding between Tai Tapu and Summerhill.

Camera 360

All that rain did not stop me from making a run for it during a break yesterday to plant some garlic. Its all about upholding tradition, where garlic are planted on the shortest day. I planted them in the greenhouse, and also under all my deciduous fruit trees. I still have got more garlic to plant about, which I will do so next week when the weather clears. It also gives me opportunity to check on the progress of my seedlings.

Camera 360

Peas are definitely growing. The mikroclima greenhouse is doing the job, moderating the micro-climate, helping the plants to grow. It is also the perfect place to over Winter my newly acquired Avocado Hass and Avocado Bacon.

Camera 360

I bought them on TradeMe, came all the way from Hastings. I have plans to plant them behind the house using hugelkultur as the foundation bed. I also plan to use hugelkultur system for the citrus that I planned to plant behind the house. Behind the house, is a relatively frost free area, and also gets a good baking in the afternoon sun, not to mention, very fertile ground. The addition of hugelkultur will raise the levels, remove drainage issue, and serve as a very cost effective way to make raised beds. After all, I have access to plenty of cherry wood. There were also plans to dig a drain to divert water away from the house to the ex-river. I’ll be use the excavated soil on the hugelkultur beds.

Camera 360

My firewood arrived today. Despite my access to piles and piles of cherry wood, I’m still pondering if my time is better spend turning the logs into firewood with a chainsaw (which cost me my time, chainsaw maintenance, petrol, and transporting), or just buying them in, delivered. Some things in life are priceless, but for everything else, there is Visa. Welcome to Capitalism. It seems that the best time to procure firewood is in Spring/Summer, I’ll do that next time. I got Oregon this time, I might try Macrocarpara next. I had my fun with Poplar, Cherry and Bluegum. I guess its all about finding the right type of firewood for a lazy stingy man like me. Looks like the Cherry wood has found better use in hugelkultur, I’ll also probably have some hugelkultur vege beds spread around in the Orchard Cottage.

Camera 360

My possuminator arrived in the mail this week. Its still in the box, I have yet to set it up. Where should I set it up? Under Simon the Tree? Or the old oak beside the house? Or the post with the Pinot Gris growing onto it? Where are the possums hanging out now?

 

 

 

 

 

 

