Do you believe in karma? I do. In a freak accident, a pair of ducks attempted to cross the road, and one of them was unfortunate to end up as a roadkill. I immediately felt really bad. I felt sad for the other duck, they were a pair, and ducks were known to pair up for life. I have just widowed a duck. That night, I came home to find my letterbox sitting on the post in a mangled state, with mud all over it.

Camera 360

Some farmer, once again knock it over into the dirt, sneakily picked it up and put it back on the post, without even screwing it back in, and pretended nothing happened. That will be the permanent spot of the mangled letterbox now, to serve as a reminder, to those who don’t really have the sense to truly qualify for a driving license.

Camera 360

And so, I have to buy a new letterbox, and install it while the sun is setting, so that the mail lady can drop off my stuff. If some bugger knock it over again, I will put the mailbox in the middle of the road, and share the trauma with the next unsuspected victim, probably a farmer.

Camera 360

Mum commented that I have been spending a lot of money lately. I was known among my colleagues as a tight arse, which I proudly called financially discipline. Well, not really, I am cheap, but I can drop big dollars too. Hopefully this new contraption will see the end to the poor roses being stripped of their foliage by possums.

Camera 360

The experts says that one should not till the ground when it is too wet. Well, I just can’t wait for it to dry up in time for me to plant more garlic bulbs! So, in I went on Friday, gloves in hand, grabbing all the tenant by their collar and yanking them out of the ground. Then, the hoe goes in to pull out anything else that remains among the dirt. Next week, the garlic bulbs will go in.

Camera 360

My greenhouse is doing me proud. In fact, it is probably one of the best thing I have ever put together. And to see the seedlings growing within it is just so fulfilling.

Camera 360

 

The plums arrived today. Coes Gold Drop, Damson, and English Greengage, all of them on St Julien rootstock for added dwarf-ness. I got them from Wairere Nursery in Hamilton as they seem to be the only one who is able to supply them in St Julien rootstock. In fact, the Orchard Cottage is a national melting pot of fruit trees hailing from all over New Zealand. And so, the experts said that one should always source their plants locally, I am nowhere near that. For even more dwarf-ness, the plums are planted in a triangle with 1 meter spacing from each other.

Camera 360

 

The almonds have also arrived. The lone Monovale who is still in leaf in the background will not be so lonely anymore. It will be in the company of CY750 and All-in-One. These, I got them from Southern Woods Nursery. Locally sourced, and experts approved.

On a similar note, I have also dispatch an email to Diacks Nursery to confirm my plant orders, and also add on Raspberry Ebony, Kaituna and Tulameen, all which claims to be spineless. Woohoo! And these are not experts approved as they will be coming from Invercargill. Oh, I can’t wait for more pre-1800s apple trees to arrive from Thunder Mountain Nursery too! Again, not experts approved, Whangarei, the northernmost city in New Zealand.

Finally, to sign off, I’ve got a -1.9dC frost this morning at 8:36am. The coldest day is yet to come, slightly less than a month away. Stay warm. Keep dry.

 

 

 

 

 

