You might noticed there’s a new thingy on the side of my blog. I’m now the proud owner of a professional weather station that automatically downloads data onto my PC and then uploads it onto Weather Underground. This is more of a luxury than a necessity, but hopefully I would make use of this opportunity to learn about the weather.

Camera 360

The old weather station is now in the greenhouse. I mounted it low to the ground so that I can tell how cold it gets deep down in there. On Friday, 12 July it went down to -2.2dCelcius in the morning. That’s the coldest so far.

Camera 360

Among all the weatherman stuff, I’ve also been busy planting trees.

Camera 360

Hazelnut Ennis is now in the ground. A pair of Walnut Rex. Chestnut 1005, and a Persimmon Matsumoto Wase Fuyu nested among the nutty gang. Elderberry Adams and Nova in the far corner between some big gaps in the existing hedge.

Camera 360

I also dug a trench to drain roof water away into the ditch behind the cottage. Feijoa seedlings are now planted, running along a soon to be duck fence on both side. Quince Smyrna, Crabapple Jack Humm, and Sour Cherry Griotella incorporated into the new Southern shelfter belt as a hedgerow treasure.

Camera 360

Alongside the trench, I planted my Marianna plum rootstocks, to be grafted with Red Leaf Black Boy Peach, River Peach and Yellow O’gen Plum in Spring. I might give away a Red Leaf Black Boy and River Peach each, the ones near the water tank, in the future.

Camera 360

Behold the hugelkultur raised beds for the Avocado Hass and Avocado Bacon.

Camera 360

And this will be the hugelkultur for Mandarin Satsuma Miho, Tangor Kiyomi, and Mandarin Satsuma Silverhill.

Camera 360

Three is the ultimate number. So, the third hugelkultur will be host for Tangelo Seminole, Orange Best Seedless, and Grapefruit Golden Special. All of which, I have gone to extensive length to procure them in dwarfing rootstock.

I’m so excited in embarking on this growing marginal plants adventure. Hugelkultur uses wood for the base, and as they rot, release humus into the soil. However, they are high carbon material and so will rob Nitrogen from the soil. This I intend to overcome by applying plenty of fish meal, which will not only top up Nitrogen in the soil, but also jump start soil life.

Camera 360

 

The saffron corms are coming through! Yays! I thought they would have perished when the pot were getting a bit too soggy. Yea, soggy pot, however that happens.

Camera 360

What happens if you judge a dog by the size of its bones?

