Without knowing it, we have already whisk past mid-Winter. One would have thought the shortest day would be the day for mid-Winter, at least, that’s how it works for the Chinese. But not for us here in NZ, June 17, 2013 is the Winter Solstice, the first Winter month. Yet, according to Chinese wisdom, severe cold happens about a month after solstice. So, have we had our severe cold yet? I’m not sure, but I did record a -2.2dCelcius last Friday. Perhaps, severe cold will come after this burst of warm fine spell.

Camera 360

Whatever the weather, I’ve got a handful of plants huddling together in the greenhouse waiting to go out into the ground on Show Weekend. Apart from the Avocados, the new additions are Orange Best Seedless, Grapefruit Golden Special, Mandarin Satsuma Miho, Mandarin Satsuma Silverhill, Tangor Kiyomi, Tangerine Seminole, all on dwarf rootstock.

Camera 360

The hugelkultur beds on the other hand are starting to ferment. The avocado site already has the load of soil on.

Camera 360

I’ll use straight compost as fillers for the citrus hugelkultur beds. But today, I’ve already top dress them with carbon and fish meal. The next lot of rain should start Β the fermentation as well. I believe I would not to take the Citrus and Avocado in well during planting.

Camera 360

The grapes got whacked into shape today after a whole year of neglect. I have pretty much let them explore their weedy potential, until now. Staked, and trained. It will be another year or two before they start producing. Till then, they just got to look pretty.

Camera 360

 

Meanwhile, my potted plants need some serious attention. So I gave them a serious brew. Equal parts Rok Solid, Secret Tomato Food with Neem Tree Granules, and Break Through. Thinned down with compost. This brew is interesting, Rok Solid for complete mineraliszation, Secret Tomato Food which is focused on Potassium, Neem Tree Garnules for pest control, Break Through which is slow release all purpose. I’m sure my potted citrus will be very happy.

Camera 360

 

Caesar is happy too! Lindsey dropped by today to share his bounty of hares after last night’s hunting. Caesar got two of them and can’t help getting fur stuck on his mouth. He faced off this one. Free-range diet anyone?

Camera 360

Spring is coming. We are into some serious business. Caesar got his backpack ready to go, and we will be exploring the valley and the hills, and he will be carrying our H2O in his backpack. He is also getting into his fitness training, sprinting up and down the road twice a day.

Come August, my heated propagator will be humming away getting tomatoes and peppers started for the new season. I’ll have to do my seed orders soon. Kings Seeds will be hearing from me, Morning Glory Hazelwood Blues, Nasturtium Tall Trailing Mixed, Bean Borlotto Fire Tongue Dwarf, Lavender Dwarf Munstead, Thyme Wild, Bean Lima Del Papa Runner, Broccoli Sprouting Summer Purple, Goji Berry, Pepper Jingle Bells, and Pumpkin Winter Luxury Pie. I’ll also need to stock up some corn seeds from Koanga Gardens.

Hmmm… I think I just heard the scream of possums. They must have smell the fish meal. Scary sound, even Caesar is afraid of them.

 

 

 

