It was a hell of a week. I got the tummy bug for the first time in my life and it is almost like the killing me softly type of food poisoning. However, I’m lucky not to get into the vomiting and diarrhea. I do remember shitting my guts out till I faint in the toilet thanks to food poisoning. This time, just a very uncomfortable tummy, a rather sore body, and immobilizing headache, the occasional fever too. I was on Powerade and digestives diet yesterday and day before, and today I was on Gatorade and coconut water, and started to try and get back into a normal diet, starting with soup. The worst is now behind, I just have to get my appetite back and regain energy.

I thought I would have gained immunity to all kind of sickness after growing up as a sickly child. I don’t even need the winter flu jab to fight off the flu. Guess what, I have never developed immunity to the tummy bug before, this will be the first, and the last!

Alas, Spring is here just around the corner! I am supposed to broadcast more wildflowers seed before a rain event, and two just passed and I missed both of them! Come again, a good dose of rain please. Winter is still making its mark, some fine frosty morning today and perhaps tomorrow.

Camera 360

 

The peas have climbed and climbed and climbed and they have reached the top line that I have strung. I’ll have to make two more levels soon. Pea soup soon too!

Camera 360

 

Seedlings are screaming to get out of their tiny cells. They’ll still have to wait a bit more. Maybe next Friday I’ll have the time to do it. Here’s the dilemma though, there’s tomatoes, peppers, basil, sprouting broccoli, and tomatillos in there. When I put those tomatoes in to PB 3/4, someone is going to have to make room and go onto the window sill tray, which is unheated, who? I am sure the first to go will be the sprouting broccoli. Who else? Maybe the basil.

Camera 360

 

This is a view of the forest garden today. The ground is pretty green. Wildflowers abound! There’s still plenty of thistles coming up too, I’ll deal to them with the help of that salty product soon. Most of the plants are already moving! In a few weeks time, we’ll have some assorted beautiful spring flowers 😉

Camera 360

 

This year’s paraketia potatoes are going to be growing in pots. I might be able to grow them all year round too because my hot sunny citrus corner is virtually frost free all year round! Anyway, this is the first time I have successfully “chit” seed potatoes! I wasn’t even doing them right like the experts tell me to put them out as single layers not to lay them on top of each other. I simply bang them into a box and commanding-ly says, “thou shall chit!”. Works.

Come again next week and I shall have fully recovered and doing more.

