I had a week of soup. I didn’t make them myself, they are off the shelf chilled soup, and they are good! I saw more at Countdown and loaded up my basket with a variety of it. I’ll be souping for another week or more, with croutons! I would have to add some more protein into it, maybe a few rashers of bacon in each meal. The digestion system is slow to recover, but I am back on coffee, milk, and most important of all, good dark beer! I’m having some Yakult style yogurt drink as well to get the system going.

At least, I feel good enough to achieve big things this week.

Camera 360

The seedlings nursery is almost completed. The covers are on, now I just need a few more bits and pieces to finish off the irrigation system.

Camera 360

The sweet basil and mini peppers have been transplanted into the greenhouse. They are lined up against the wall, just a convenient place to put them when there are so many other occupant in the greenhouse. The tomatoes will of course take center stage in the near future.

Camera 360

For once, my greenhouse actually looks very tidy.

Camera 360

Greenhouse peas ready to begin peaduction.

Camera 360

Dwarf peas in the raised beds have already begun peaduction. I wonder who is going to pollinate them now that I have the nets on. I should have stick to the normal nets. Think about the bees next time.

Camera 360

The ground underneath the raised beds were once used to grow some really beautiful heirloom paraketia potatoes. I’ve since raised the bed by 30cm, and some rogue potatoes managed to climb 30cm to leaf out. I’ve pulled them out. Potatoes belong elsewhere, in a pot.

While on the topic of raised beds. I have 3 raised beds, each 180cm x 90cm. And I read about square foot gardening. Something click, and I have an idea of crop rotation going on in my mind. 3 raised beds, divided into half means 6 sections, good enough for a rotation system. And square foot gardening may work for me because I am a rather squarish person who likes to put everything into a box, square box.

Camera 360

Potatoes belong to pots. I’ve got plenty of pots. I started my first planting today. And will start a new pot every week until I run out of pots. Lined the based with a bit of compost, then a handful of comfrey leaves because the expert says so. A sprinkle of neem granules. Then cover the potatoes with more compost. Position pot in a frost free area and make sure Caesar don’t attempt to store his bones in it.

Camera 360

Should I harvest this lone edible size purple asparagus and make a fine dining meal out of it or let it grow for another season?

Camera 360

I’ll be getting some pears this season. WBC, LBJ and WN.

Camera 360

Busy body bugging a busy bee.

Camera 360

 

When your garden gives you those postcard moments.

Camera 360

 

Spring. Green as grass. Wait, those are not grass. More like wilderness waiting to happen. See the well trodden path on the right. Caesar trod it in. This is the far corner of the Orchard Cottage 2.0, I might actually put a comfy chair here in the future to enjoy the view.

