It appears that we have one of the worst windstorm for even before I was born. While the gust went over 100kph in other areas bringing mass destruction to just about everything, and some people out there are still without power, we are quite lucky in the valley to escape with a maximum gust speed of not more than 60kph. That said, the power did threatened to go out, and things get blown about, but no harm done. Those poor farmers out there had their irrigator in a mess, and according to the news, will take weeks before the spare parts arrived to get them fixed.

Camera 360

Things are going green here. The pears are flowering. Cherries and apples are about to start flowering. I spent half my weekend out among the wildflowers meadow spot spraying thistles and nettles. The thistles infestation would just about had me declare a state of emergency at the Orchard Cottage. The experts says, get them early, hit them hard. I won’t be spraying no more after this as the wildflowers are starting to get into the way and ended up as collateral damage. Next time I will use a daisy weeder. Would I be able to eradicate thistles within a year?

Camera 360

The netting covering the three raised beds have been removed. I doubt there was ever a need for it in the first place. I might be wrong, maybe the birds will prove me wrong one day. The mesclun salads have been harvested.

Camera 360

Picked some curly kale today and had kale chips for snack. Rainbow beets for dinner tonight. I have yet to get to the pea shoots yet.

Camera 360

I just spotted the first pea of the season. These are the outdoor peas in the raised vege beds. I hope the birds don’t go on a rampage on them this time.

Camera 360

The peas in the greenhouse have started flowering too! Beautiful purple flowers. They have started to hit the roof. I will probably start pinching them off at the top for some steam pea shoots salad.

Camera 360

 

Bumble bee working the pear flowers. Now I just need the other pears to start flowering to help out with some cross pollination.

Camera 360

 

Bluebells bulbs ready to flower.

Camera 360

The first contribution from the wildflowers meadow. Nemophila. Of course, the white allysum flowering as well.

Camera 360

 

Fruitset from the Goldbar and Goldstrike apricot trees. Now I just have to protect them from the possums.

Camera 360

 

Spring onions flowering. Very interesting almost alien flowers.

You know I am rushing this. My head is a bit floaty now. I have inadvertently consumed, or in the process of consuming a bottle of 10% alcohol stout which taste like piss. I definitely can’t taste that luscious roasted coffee and chocolate malt flavours. Wow, I can come up with the vocab of “inadvertently” at this stage of intoxication. Anyway, this 500ml bottle is worth 3.9 standard drinks. I can’t pour this down the sink. Its a craft beer, and it cost as much as a pack of beer, for just a bottle. Waste not want not. At least I know I am going to sleep like a puppy tonight.

Camera 360

What’s happening next week? Grafting perhaps. I just reviewed some old photos last year to find out when did I do the grafting workshop. Well, its late October. So, things can still wait. I might start practicing with some guerrilla grafting on the roadside plum though. There’s some scionwood which I have procured for this purpose, Angelina Burdett, Peacherine Matakohe, Marabella, and Transparent Gage. There’s also the thing with my tomatoes waiting to be grafted. They might be ready for that next week.

Camera 360

Is it me or is Caesar really posing for this shot?

 

 

