Might call this the worst working week of my life with so many things going wrong at work. But that’s work, and we do it just about every working day. This is the Orchard Cottage blog! So let’s bring on the tree-hugger!

Camera 360

 

Plenty of Nemophila flowering in the meadow. And among them plenty of weed flowering too, especially fumitory.

Camera 360

 

The bluebells are doing their best too. I hope they divide well and I will get plenty more of them free plants in years to come!

Camera 360

 

The apple trees are ready to start their annual show.

Camera 360

 

Orchard cherry tree blossoming in earnest. Doubt I’ll be able to get any cherry off them this year, the tree is still too small, the birds will get most of them.

Camera 360

 

Some very sparse almond flowers from the tree that did not really go dormant.

Camera 360

 

I wonder if these mushrooms are edible. Anyone able to advice?

Camera 360

 

I have got 6 kiwiberry vines now. I hope I won’t regret. And I hope by planting 2 vines in a hole will help curb some of that weedy vigour. There’s the 4 from Koanga Institute, early green, mid season green, red fruit, and unkown. Then, there’s 2 from Diacks Nurseries, green and male vine.

Camera 360

 

The hugelkultur beds are quite ready too having generous dressing of coffee grounds and compost. Plant out will be on Labor Day.

Camera 360

The love hate relationship with house plants. Pests, or the lack of natural predators.

Camera 360

 

A view of Orchard Cottage this week.

