My second take on tomato grafting is a huge success. Both Indigo Rose on Tomaccio and Tomaccio on Indigo Rose has taken! They are now sitting on top of the fridge hardening out. I have since grafted Black Cherry onto Indigo Rose, Tomaccio and Monte Carlo F1. I have also grafted Indigo Rose onto Oaxacan Jewel and Monte Carlo F1. In this twist of event, I ended up testing Indigo Rose on different rootstocks instead of Tomaccio. So far so good, all the subsequent grafting has taken. Cellophane tape seems to work rather well to bind the graft, I wonder if I could use it for tube grafting replacing the rubber tubing.

Camera 360

Now this has gotten under way, I realize the need of the high dome propagator. Unfortunately, and surprisingly, its not sold in NZ, but I have since asked on LSB and hope I can get some answers. Otherwise, they would have to come from eBay shipped out of the states.

Camera 360

 

This has been on my to-do list for ages. I finally got to finish it off today, add in the sprinklers, hook it up to the irrigation with the electronic timer on it. Done and dusted, calibrated. Now I will need another set of electronic timer for the main irrigation system. This can be a simple one that can be turned on for longer hours as I am using it for drip irrigation and no longer for frost fighting.

Camera 360

The weather has been warm. This is the first pot of potatoes I have done, 5 weeks ago, and I just added another layer of comfrey leaf, neem granules and hill up with compost. I had a look through some leftover potatoes in the drawer meant for the tummy, and wow, those have chit really well with nice long thick shoots! I will sow the purple heart, agria, and desiree together in the wine barrel. I have another pot of paraketia potato to start next week, then I will be down to the small pots which I will be using the tiny seed potatoes from Koanga, grown from actual seeds.

Camera 360

I stumbled upon a snail on the window. Why is it on the window? I don’t recall hiring a window cleaner.

Camera 360

I have stripped the dwarf peas of their peas. We shall see if I can get a subsequent crop off them. In the meantime, the greenhouse has been a sight to behold. Lush growth of peas growing at weed-like proportion in there. I might have too much pea that I end up with a peaver and get nightmares and pea in my pants.

Camera 360

And asparagus peas too! Oh dear… I can see that glut coming around the corner, pea pea pea.

Camera 360

 

So, I took some cuttings of the gooseberry, and poke them deep into the saffron pot, and forget about them. And here they are, reminding me that I put them there. These can come out and go into the hedgerow come Winter, along with the other currants cuttings that have rooted.

Camera 360

Avocado Hass on the left and Bacon on the right. I have decided not to let the not so hardy plants camp it out in the greenhouse any longer. The weather is getting very sunny and hot, any plants in pots will easily dry out easily and weaken the plant.

Camera 360

 

And I mowed the lawn. And dump the lawn clippings around the plants. There’s extra heat right there. I’ve also jumped the gun and start my corn hybridization program early, trying to combine Early Gem, Rainbow Inca and Silver Platinum and see what I can get. I sow 2 lot in there. I think this will be a very good spot, and I can sow the mainstream ones on the tucker patch and their pollen won’t get mixed up.

The only good thing about a lawn is that I get lawn clippings to mulch all those trees in the forest garden!

Camera 360

From left, Satsuma Miho, Tangor Kiyomi, Satsuma Silverhill. Out they go into their designated spot at the back of the house. The hugelkultur beds are ready to finally host the citrus and avocado.

Camera 360

From left, Grapefruit Golden Special, Tangelo Seminole, Orange Best Seedless. All the citrus are on Flying Dragon dwarf rootstock, and the avocados are on the more cold hardy Zutano rootstock. The end result, they are raised at least 1 feet off the ground in a very warm bed. I will probably be applying straw as mulch.

Camera 360

The aphids on the Austin roses seem to have scattered. Before, they were all on the right most plant, but now there’s not much left, and I saw some on the middle plant, but not at a scary proportion. Something must have come along and have a big feast of aphids. Thank you very much you unsung hero!

Camera 360

I like bumble bees. I was stalking them today trying to get some macro shots while they were bumbling around the lavenders. They are amazing, scientifically, they are not supposed to be able to fly, yet they fly. And for things that can’t fly but do fly, they can accidentally collide in mid-air without subsequent explosion or crash and burn.

Camera 360

I can count 2 poppy flowering in the forest garden. Soon it will be a bee paradise.

Camera 360

Just as well, they can help to pollinate all my fruit trees. Apples are flowering now. I have also gone around and did some pruning just to tidy things up.

Camera 360

I am an impulse shopper. I saw this Red Cherry Guava at the garden centre. Why not? Heh!

Camera 360

If you have the red one, you should also get the yellow one too! They will be a great addition to the hedgerow-in-making. Yes, I’m a sucker at impulse purchase.

Camera 360

The Orchard Cottage this week. You can’t see it but the wildflowers are growing taller day by day.

I did barefoot running today. It was a bit crazy as I have not done any running for God know how long. And I just go for it today, did an hour of running at a rather good and consistent pace too! I did thought of doing a 30 minute run at first, but at that turn around point, I decided to just raise the stakes. Feels good!

