Almost 60mm of rain at one go. And -0.3dC overnight. That’s not too bad. Just as I thought I would have to start irrigating the forest garden.

Camera 360

So, after the rain, everything became greener and taller. There’s more poppy ready to flower, and phacelia too ready to start their bee festival.

Camera 360

About bees. They are loving the flowering comfrey now. And they still love the lavender too! An interesting observation, the bees seem lethargic these few days, probably due to the cold. They are flying slower, working slower, and hanging onto longer at each flower. I can almost hear them say, “I’m to old for this”.

Camera 360

Poppy wears a hat.

Camera 360

Little pecan tree decided to wake up. Only the walnut trees are left asleep now. And Apple Mother is still asleep too, sound asleep!

Camera 360

The grapes are doing what I am asking them to do. Matakana Gold and Iona is doing fine. Cardinal on the other hand is really weak, and Muscat Hamburg is just limping along. It might take another season before they find their footing and shoot away.

Camera 360

With any luck, I will have TWO apricots to snack on this year. A Gold Bar and a Gold Strike, that’s it.

Camera 360

After doing this gardening thing for some time, the one thing that still amazes me is the assortment of garden hand tools! Yet, from what the market has to offer, sometimes it just wasn’t good enough to do the job. I have got 2 daisy weeder, a short handle and a long handle, you are suppose to be able to lever out tap rooted plants with this tool but it doesn’t work all the time, most of the time I resort to spaghetti roll them out of the ground. Then, there’s the 3 tyne cultivator, which I have removed 2 tyne and just left with one, works really well for cultivating my raised beds. I truly enjoy single tyne cultivator, even had a long handle old school Victorian one. The latest addition is the weed extractor by Wolf-Garten. The way I plan to use this tool is as a replacement for the daisy cultivator. Using the edge to sever the stem from the roots beneath soil surface, use like a chisel. I could have just bought a chisel.

Camera 360

These flowering plum somehow managed to creep into the hedgerow. They will be grafted onto next season. I have done all my stonefruit grafting on Friday. The apples are done today. I hope they will take. At least one of each variety, will make me real happy. Or at least one. Haha!

Camera 360

I am germinating green coffee beans in a sprouting kit. Google says it takes 60 days for them to germinate. Well, I managed to get some movements in just 3 days. We’ll see how it goes.

Camera 360

I don’t really have much luck with Citrus. Look at this Lemon Yen Ben.

Camera 360

And this Lemon Meyer.

Camera 360

And the Orange Cara Cara. I think this is caused by spider mite.

I suspect it is some form of nutrient deficiency due to soil PH. Whatever it is, I am on a mission to get them back to good health.

We had another 12mm downpour overnight. That’s giving everything a really good drink. I did some weeding around the garden, make some space for the roses beneath the trees so that they have some better chances of establishing themselves.

Emptied out the 200L worm farm bin too. There were still some tiger worms in it, I am not quite sure it quite work because I fed a mix of stuff, and some wrong stuff in it. So there are still some undigested stuff all over. Threw some into the compost bin, some I spread around the apricot trees. I have got a real purpose built worm farm coming in the mail soon, and I am going to feed them mainly coffee grounds this time.

Finally, on a side note, I have watched Passion of Christ many times, the first time I watched it, I was in college, I don’t really have many reaction to it. Nowadays, the scene where Mary knock things over and ran over to Jesus when he fall down as a child, will definitely make me burst into tears. A mother’s unconditional love for her child, the seed for a better world.

