New Zealand’s largest heritage seed and tree collection is under threat and we are urgently appealing for support to remove this threat. URGENT appeal- help us save New Zealand’s largest heritage organic seed and tree collection by TUESDAY 5th of November.

Click here to go to Koanga Institute.

please-help-us-save-our-seeds-urgent1

So, I did intend the title for this post to be “Haillelujah”, without much originality, until the Koanga Institute thing came along. I told the guys I am still waiting for the hail storm to hit between Labour Day and Canterbury AP Show Day. Well, last Monday was Labour Day. And we just had a steady drop of hail Friday evening. It’s raining down hail like cats and dogs pissing ice cubes all over. So now, let’s see when will the frost hits. Almost had one this morning with the temperature go just below 1dC.

Labour Day is the point where I start to harden off the seedlings that I started indoors. And its a harsh hardening process as all I do is to put the plants outside and leave them there. So, some of the tomatoes got leaf burn by the wind. Oh well, toughen up!

On the tomato story, Grafting 2.0 failed as well. Now on to the third try. I attempted to get hold of some rubber tube which is a bicycle spare parts for the valve core on the tire. Little did I know it was old stuff that when I got to the bike shop and asked for it, they looked at me as if I was a dinosaur. Yep, I had to eBay it from China. I used the tube for tube grafting. I am also getting hold of 4mm inner diameter and 5mm inner diameter tube as well, from China. Hopefully I will get some success this time. I’ll use this season as a practice season.

Camera 360

I had this for dinner on Friday night. Nice firm, heavy head. Unfortunately I was unable to finish it. Among other things, a good piece of rib eye steak, peas, 2 gourmet desiree, 2 new season rocket, 2 new season jersey benne. Its a bit of a potato trial to find out how each taste like, or more or less, how new season potato tasted different from the normal stuff. I don’t think I will ever eat the normal stuff again. The taste is mildy different, but distinct, if that even make sense.

Camera 360

Broccoli Romanesco is starting to flower. See the green turning purple, of a more broccoli form. However, I had a feeling it looks somewhat like broccoflower that we sell at the shop. Asked Google and found out they are the same. It is actually a broccoli and cauliflower cross. Will eat this soon.

Camera 360

Ok, I ate it. Taste more cauliflower than broccoli. But more tender or tenderer.

Camera 360

Leander (1982) – This is a large robust shrub, which bears larger open sprays of medium-sized flowers of perfectly symmetrical formation; their colour being a deep apricot. Shiny, dark green, disease-resistant foliage. It has a delightful raspberry scent, in the Tea Rose tradition. This is the original form of a group of similar strong and hardy, disease-resistant shrubs, which include A Shropshire Lad, Geoff Hamilton, Crown Princess Margareta and William Morris.

Camera 360

Mrs Oakley Fisher (1921) – Hybrid Tea, bred by Cants of Colchester. Beautifully formed single flowers of warm apricot, opening to gold with prominent stamens. Continuous flowering.

Camera 360

Jade plant, or also known as Money Tree. So, I took the bamboo out of that pot, and put the jade plant in there. This pot will make a very interesting bonsai specimen. The bamboo trio is very happy to be standing on their own.

Camera 360

Corn hybridization project. So, one set of it is a hit. I will thin them down to one variety each after show day.

I discovered a new way to harvest comfrey leaf. Grow them many in a clump, plonk the rake over them and comb the leaf out. I don’t really worry about all the bruise and tear, its a tough plant to kill. Pretty much, just rough them up. Tough love.

I don’t think my worm farm is doing very well at all. I think more than half of the worms have escaped. There might be a colony somewhere under the house or in the wood pile. I can’t find much worms in the box. I think the mistake I had is feeding to much. So I rake the coffee grounds to one corner, and added more torn up newspaper as bedding on the other corner. And will be adding more worms. Apparently, I read somewhere else that I should not feed the worms for a week so that they can settle down. Will see how it goes this time.

Camera 360

Potted plants. Lots of them. I wonder how will they turn out. If potted potatoes work, I might be able to grow new potatoes all year round in this frost free spot. The raspberry and boysenberry and blueberry are doing well. The flowering cherry is recovering from last season’s neglect. I’ve got some Colt cherry rootstock bundle up in a tiny pot too, I’ll need to pot it up soon.

Camera 360

I spotted this dashing poppy among the wildflowers today.

Camera 360

A view of the extended area of Orchard Cottage now covered in wildflowers. The gap in the privet hedge on the left is going to be taken up with low growing acacia and eucalyptus species.

Camera 360

The weekly view of the Orchard Cottage. The growing things are growing into the paths.

