Now, it’s safe to plant out all tender plants. Tomatoes, corns, peppers, etc etc. I have started weekly irrigation. Everything gets about 8 hours of drip irrigation once a week. Hopefully, this method will encourage the trees to develop more resilient root system.

I was at the A&P Show on Friday. It was good, I had a good tour of the place, watch more of the different things that was going on, like the wood chopping and the dog trials. If those lumberjacks saw the state of my axe, they would have chopped my head clean off with their shinny axe.

I also came upon this mini-ute, Suzuki Jimmy, 2 seater with a flat deck. I tried to look for it online but they only have the Suzuki Farmworker which is not road legal. If the Suzuki Jimmy ute-wannabe that I saw is road legal, I so want it! It is like the ultimate lifestyle block-rural-city-transition vehicle of choice. 1300cc, 4WD, petrol, and a flat deck. It fits my profile, prefers to have only one car so that I only pay for one warrant and registration, petrol means that I don’t have to pay for mileage unlike the usual diesel truck, 4WD always my preferred option, and a flat deck means that I can cart things about without needing a trailer, which I am really no good at. I have broke the tail lights off trailer, twice, and they were not my trailer to start with. I hope it handles well on highway.

Most of the fruit trees have been given a haircut so that they bush up and grows into a more compact form. Bonsai-ed. Fruits thinned down, so that they will mature earlier and be of a larger size.

Camera 360

I’ll be having my own WBC and DDC pears this season. The other pears flowered this year but did not set fruit. Hopefully their flowering timing will sync up next season.

Camera 360

I hope this is not premature celebration but I think my grafting on the apple side has been a huge success. The stonefruits on the other hand has yet to show any sign of growth. My scion wood might have been left in the chiller for too long.

Camera 360

 

Gave the kiwiberry vines some training.

Camera 360

 

I have finally dealt with all the peas. The tomatoes will be going in next week. I have had enough of peas. Will only be growing dwarf peas from now on.

Camera 360

The season is progressing. Marigolds are coming through and flowering.

Camera 360

The Orchard Cottage this week. Daisies are starting to come up and flower. Corn cockles too!

Camera 360

Fruit trees among wildflowers. Now, I just need to go and cut out some path with the lawnmower. If that fails, the line trimmer.

Camera 360

 

Caesar appreciates the new paths mowed into the wildflowers meadow.

A thought on the side about GM/GE. Personally, I would not want to go near it, because it is a bit like mankind trying to play God without understanding how the whole system works, it’s just like why being in the medical profession is called a practice, it is a politically correct excuse when things goes indefinably wrong. The consequences could be widespread. However, are people who are against GM aware that plant breeders have been using radiation to induce mutation of existing plant to create new variety since 1800s? One of it being the self-fertile cherry, and your favorite Christmas cherry come from this parent. Have we thought about how is that different from the modern GM? Or have we just consciously choose to ignore that fact? That our mind selectively censor out data that does not support our cause?

Anyway, I am not going to stop eating that sweet tasty Lapin, even though there is the tiniest bit of risk… Radiation… Mutation… Sounds a lot like cancer to me. But I’m still against GM corn because they are going to give me cancer! =.=”’

