If you tell me the bed time story of the cows jumping over the moon, I will no longer doubt you. I took Caesar out for a walk on Saturday evening, and there were these 3 cows in the paddock opposite the cottage, and they seemed to be vigilant of the sight of Caesar taking a stroll down the road, right by the fence, and one decided to jump the gate, to get further away from Caesar. Then, the other jumped the fence onto the road. Then, the third decided to follow. And the first one that jumped the gate, jumped the fence. And they ran down the road, away from Caesar, together. So, I had to turn around, go back to the cottage and ring the farmer to let him know that the cows jumped the fence. And I thought the fence were there, along with the barbed wires, to keep the animals in.

And I thought cows don’t jump. The first one would have scored a 10 for show jumping.

Camera 360

And that would be a blue moon moment. Like this Blue Moon rose.

Camera 360

The new roses that I have planted have started to put on a show.

Camera 360

This is a bi-colour one.

Camera 360

The tomatoes are in the greenhouse. Black Cherry, Broad Rippled Yellow Currant, Black Zebra, Dagma’s Perfection, Indigo Rose, MonteCarlo F1, Oaxacan Jewel, Orange Flesh Purple Smudged, Red Currant, Super Snow White, and Tomaccio. Half of them were badly wind burned, hopefully they will come away. I’ve still got some space around, I will be planting the bell peppers in there. Then companion plant the lot with basil.

I have redo the irrigation for the raised beds and the greenhouse. All the leaky hose in the raised beds were replaced with 13mm poly pipe and 4 micro sprinklers. The reason behind this being that most of the veges were sown direct in the raised beds and need a more even spread of surface moisture which the leaky hose is unable to provide. The 4 micro sprinklers were strategically placed at ground level and seems quite promising. The greenhouse will have 2 leaky hose running parallel to each other to provide a more even soaking.

Camera 360

 

This might very well be the very first quince that I will be eating in my life.

Camera 360

The wildflowers meadow is progressing. Poppy Ladybird coming through.

Camera 360

 

And something on the more flamboyant side.

Camera 360

 

And white with a bleeding edge.

Camera 360

Corn cockles are showing up as well.

Camera 360

And you know the weather is really warming up.

Camera 360

When the daisies start to show.

Camera 360

And the wildflowers meadow transition from the purplish Phacelia Lacy to the reddish Soldiers Poppy.

Camera 360

The Phacelia Lacy have just about finish flowering now.

Camera 360

The Orchard Cottage has got its fair share of love from the bronze beetle this season. The Santa Rosa Plum just about completely defoliated. If you regard bronze beetle as the enemy, you are missing the big picture. Some of my plants are badly attacked, while some were left alone. Some were targeted last year, but left alone this year. Plant health and natural indicator.

Camera 360

Currant, I stumbled upon when I was doing the Koanga Bio-Pesticide spray. Mixed with liquid seaweed and Mycorrcin.

Camera 360And gooseberries!

It was a beautiful day too. I decided to take Caesar out for a hike.

Camera 360

 

Look! A good size eating trout in the Kaituna River!

Camera 360

 

I have never explored this track before. It cuts through the pine forest. At one of the turns, the track showed itself into a native forest of manuka or kanuka, its like a hidden paradise. And some fat lambs with undocked tails.

Camera 360

 

This valley has got very good feng shui. Mountain, river, lake, sea. What else can you ask for?

Camera 360

 

Caesar was carrying the backpack. Good dog!

Camera 360

 

I have never seen this view before, the river winding its way up the valley. God doesn’t draw in straight lines. Makes you wonder if God is drunk all the time, doesn’t you? Sorry God.

I still can’t get a bird eye view of the Orchard Cottage from here, I might try a different track next time.

Before I sign off, I would like to put in my recommendation for Bosch Cordless 18V Hedge Trimmer AHS 48 LI. I was really skeptical about cordless product having enough omph to deliver the bang of for the bucks. I read a lot of review, mostly from Amazon before I take the leap of faith. Well, if I really want proven cutting power, it would be a petrol hedge trimmer, and the cheapest reliable one would be McCulloch at $349. The Bosch Cordless is $249. So, consider the cordless ones, Makita, really good brand with good blades, $299, add another $50 and go for McCulloch straight. Black & Decker, 18V for $229, why not Bosch with better blades and build quality? Then, Black & Decker also has a 36V for $349, the blades were not that good and the review is just bad, but 36V do promise a lot of omph, yet at that price, the McCulloch petrol would sound more reasonable. If it comes down to $299, then its a tough one to decide between that and the Makita, still, the same logic applies, add $50 and go for McCulloch. So, in the end, my consumer buying process landed me with the Bosch. And it does the job I intend it to do. Satisfied customer.

 

 

