I don’t like the 4kph speed tolerance thing over public holidays. They did it before and some idiots took it too seriously they decided to go 20kph below the speed limit, frustrating everyone else on the road which subsequently led to reckless overtaking. And that, is like getting stuck behind 4 campervans doing a 80kph convoy on the state highway.

Camera 360

The weather has been pretty gloomy this week. The wildflowers meadow helped keep things bright. Its all red now. Soldier on, the poppy says, no matter what the weather.

Camera 360

I’ve given the saffron pot a makeover, moved the corms into the greenhouse, and replanted the pot with peppermint, lemon balm, lemon verbena, and spearmint. I’ve also got a lemongrass, that go into a pot by itself.

Camera 360

The irrigation on the raised beds have all been fixed up now. I tried a few variation with the sprinklers and finally settled on something. I can be such an anal perfectionist at times that I am an annoyance to myself.

I would either be adding 2 raised beds or 4 raised beds late this season. If I add 2, it will be  one for asparagus and one for strawberries. If I add 4, one will be shared asparagus and strawberries, and the other 3 will join the rotation with my 3 existing beds. I am unsure yet, where my appetite with the existing square meter garden is going.

There’s a lot of interesting things I would like to grow, just because. Arugula, Cress, Mibuna, Miners Lettuce, Mizuna, Minutia, Shiso, Shungiku… Their name itself sounds a bell that I should try them out before I die.

Camera 360

I have finally do a proper setup of the irrigation system. The whole venturi injection setup has been improved with a bypass, and some extra bits and bobs. The 1″ kit did not work, so I’m getting a 3/4″ kit, and the existing kit will be used on the other tap for the misting of the citrus and seedlings in the morning.

Camera 360

Spiderweb-ed the berry pots.

Camera 360

 

Koanga Institute sent out some tiny seed potatoes which were grown from flower seeds of heirloom potatoes. They have a slightly different leaf shape.

Camera 360

I think the best seedlings are the one raised outdoors.

Camera 360

Finally, my favorite cornflower showed its true colors!

Camera 360

I’m quite excited about what the bloom may bring!

Camera 360

 

 

The grass grubs got to the plums too!

Camera 360

 

The corn breeding project has been planted, along with the baby kaffir lime.

Camera 360

 

The other corn and pumpkin and squash and watermelon were also planted out today. I was a little late in planting out this year. Hopefully they will catch up just fine.

Camera 360

 

If this is what I think it is, a very late bud break on the Cox Orange Pippin scionwood grafted onto Mother M9, and that the graft has taken, I’ll be a very proud and happy man, because this will be my first double grafted tree! I am actually very keen to do a quadruple graft of Monty’s Surprise, Hetlina, Tropicana, and Fuero Rous in the near future, the healthiest apple tree in the world! And I have all 4 of them here in the forest garden.

Camera 360

A word of wisdom, nothing is perfect, nothing stays the same, nothing is finished. The development at the Orchard Cottage is proof of that.

