During this season, what would be your wishlist for receiving gifts? For me it would be bales of pea straws, dump of gravel, bags of compost, and truckload of firewood! Once upon a time, it would be iPhone, a new laptop, etc etc. Just think about it, how many bales of pea straws can an iPhone buy?

The poor Apple Tropicana had collar rot, and its dying. Well, that’s one tree I killed in 2013, many less compared to 2012. Now, I got to get a replacement. Its interesting how a certain online shop, listing things online, and taking payments upfront online, never responds to customer’s email, which was sent online. But they do answer the phone, every time. I don’t think I will buy any tree from them until they email me and confirm the actual availability of stock. 2 reason I like online shopping, I don’t have to talk to anyone, face to face, or through the phone, I was shy. 2, with the click of the button, I will get what I want pronto, 99% of the time if they are in stock as they claimed to be, kiasu-ism.

Camera 360

I’ve marked out the area where the new raised beds are going to be. It sort of gives me a clearer perspective of how the end result would look like. It’s quite exciting, I have yet to do the budgeting. But this is going to be a medium term project, so the financing will be secondary. I have got more pressing matters at hand.

Camera 360

I took the quadbike to what’s left of the not so newly acquired paddock. I guessed I jumped the gun with the wildflowers. The removal of the initial paddock and tilling of the soil has awaken plenty of weed seeds. It might need a second round of treatment to truly get things going in the right direction. Then again, some time for contemplation of what would be the ideal ground cover for this olive and nut groove? Would a white allysum and subclover do? Or just well mowed weeds?

I harvested my first pot of Paraketia potatoes. They were tiny. But that’s fine, I learned to love tiny potatoes, they were just so bite size, great for tossing in among salads. Perhaps, the lesson learned, is to use only one seed potato for each pot instead of three. This lesson will be confirmed in the near future once I harvested the other pots.

Had an idea about starting a maiden vegetable garden that would possibly get the weeds out of the way, and nourish the soil at the same time. How about, covering the ground with bags of compost, still in the bags. Then puncture planting and drainage holes into them. In this case, I might make the drainage holes towards the lower edges instead of directly at the bottom, which could help stop stubborn weeds from getting through. Or just, lay card boards and newspapers on the ground and have the compost bags on top. In this instance, I think only root crops would not be suitable for this growing method. At the end of the season, just cut the bags open, tip the compost out into the ground, and restart the process, and you will slowly end up with a nice slightly raised bed. In fact, this is my plan for growing out the sweetcorn from my breeding program next season. I will have it laid out that I could just irrigate it with an oscillating sprinkler.

Camera 360

Behold, the amazing Tagasaste Tree Lucerne. This darling is amazingly fast growing! Planted early Winter, they are now as high as the grape post fencing! Higher! Nitrogen fixing, and bushy, amazing nurse plant. I am going to plant more of them strategically next season to create some much needed quick shelter. When its done the job, it can be cut down for firewood too! I am getting another 50 of them to inter-plant among the other fruit trees to establish some quick shelter.

Camera 360

 

Tomatoes are loving it in the greenhouse. Pretty strong growth there, and some fruit sets already. As usual Indigo Rose is the first off the mark, and most likely last to finish.

Camera 360

 

Lots of pears from William bon Chretian weighing down the limbs.

Camera 360

 

Self-seeded tomatillos! Just unbelievable! Of course, I did not harvest anything last season. I will, when I finally get my head around making chutneys.

Something to think about. I have planted 3 plum trees, Damson, Greengage and Coes Golden Drop in a triangle 1 meter apart. The plan is to induce natural grafting by linking their limbs, and through some miracle, abracadabra! The limbs fused together naturally. Imagine 3 person standing in a circle joining arms. What happens next? Will the dominant variety take over? Will there be a Damson-Greengage hybrid fruit? Will it turn into a three-legged monster tree and run around smashing everything that smells of green revolution? Something to think about…

Camera 360

You can always stop to reflect and look back on your life but it must be lived forward.

