Raining in town but not out here. Its bone dry out here in the valley despite having to turn up the car wiper just 5 minutes away. Two days of good rain in town, not a single drop out here. OK, I’m exaggerating, I’ve got 0.3mm of rain. The plan is to continue the existing irrigation program until Autumn, and I’ll start toning it down so that the plants get the idea to prepare for dormancy. That said, the poplars along Bonehill Vineyard has started to shed their leaves. Are they that sensitive to shortening day length?

Camera 360

I don’t know what this variety of tomato is. But it is sooooo cute! Paint it grey, and it might actually look like a good old fashion pumpkin too!

Camera 360

In permaculture design, they preach the full exploitation of the edge factor. Utilizing the gap between canopies, along the drip lines of larger trees. Maximum diversity, so on and so forth. And I, have unknowingly utilized the edge factor by growing vegetables in between fruit trees planted along the tucker patch.  Every conventional gardener says it can’t be done. This is my second year doing it, with good results.

Camera 360 Camera 360 Camera 360

Roses! Finally some traditional dark velvet red roses. And something colorful as well. I’m glad that they established themselves well. Holding them off from flowering from the initial planting does yield good results.

Camera 360

The gladioli that I got from Koanga Institute is just beautiful!

Camera 360

So, you would have remember sometime back, I spent $199 on a Goodnature A12 Possum Bach Kit. Each canister can kill 12 possums, and the bach kit comes with 3 canister, theoretically, I would be able to bag 36 possums. Unfortunately, I only ended up with less than a handful and 3 empty canister, and no idea what is wrong, probably a faulty or leaking A12 Possum Trap. Money well spent? Yea… nah. I am yet unable to remove the trap for inspection despite following the instruction manual. With all the spare parts still in a box, I manage to come up with this idea when I am doing my business in the toilet. Won’t you agree that’s where the best idea is usually born? Drill a hole into the spare bite block so that it can slide up the metal rod in the good old possum trap, spread the possum paste from the spare tube generously into the bite block. This is pretty much fool proof. And I don’t need to worry about rotten apples, or stolen apples.

Camera 360

 

Got some bamboo hoops for my potted berries. Gave them a little prune to cut off all the canes that have fruited. Its quite easy to spot because they show obvious signs of senescence. Ate some yummy blueberries too!

Camera 360

 

The sides have gone in on all the new raised beds. I’m starting to build up the base layer on one of the beds. Sheet mulched with thick newspapers, then I mix of used coffee grounds and spent compost from the potatoes pot goes in. I might be adding some greens in considering I can get an abundance of them from work. It will be composting in situ. No coffee grounds for the asparagus bed as they don’t like acidic soil. Perhaps, rotten branches from all around might work. Maybe wait till Autumn and gather up the oak leaves.

Camera 360

 

That’s the strawberries bed, work in progress. The gap on the sides will be patched up with mesh, it serves to give a raised side of about 15cm before the slanting mesh roof takes over. The covers will be 4 pieces, 2 a side. This is perhaps going to be one of the most complicated things I am building so far.

Camera 360

 

I’ve marked out the full grown edge of the nut trees to find out how things will look like when they are matured. And of course, to find opportunities to plant up the edge with some apple trees and stone fruits. Definitely there are some part where a few stone fruits can go in where they is an imaginary heat trap, and apple trees will line up the other parts. And maybe some pears? As I planned to use the clearing in the middle for my sweetcorn project next season, I found out it was not round in shape, but more of double rounds. The plan is to do a S shape with tails that curl deep into itself, like Sssssss, haha! Anyway, I will know if it works when I start lining up the compost bags to make the pattern. It will be two spiral that joins up. I think its quite symbolic. Now I just need to be able to save my first generation Kaituna corn seeds.

