Mum and dad has gone back to Kay-eL. Coming back to an empty house without the smell of home cooked Chinese food lingering around felt unusual, lonely. The house even feels a few degrees colder. And I picked up the pieces and continue where I left off, with Caesar, the partner in crime.

Camera 360

The forest garden is bountiful with apples and pears. The nashi pears were amazing, and the high Vitamin C of the sour-ish Calville Blanc d’Hiver makes me feel oh-so-healthy! Then, there’s plenty of tomatoes, or should I say, they have gone wild because I have not pinch off the laterals for 2 weeks.

Camera 360

Look at that bush! By the time I got through them, I am all green.

Camera 360

Now, that’s better, a lot more sunlight coming through to give the tomatoes some sunny goodness.

Camera 360

When I first saw this in the greenhouse, I have no idea what it is because I have decidedly not plant any ugly weird looking tomatoes. It turned out to be Oaxacan Jewel, but my Oaxacan Jewel last year looked nothing like this. Perhaps, some ancient gene has been reactivated? It looks like Zapotec which hails from the high altitude region of Oaxacan in southern Mexico first brought to Europe in 1521.

Camera 360

Look at this supposedly Red Currant tomato! I planted 2 Red Currant, the one at the back, is red, and the one in front turned out to be yellow?! And the yellow one is just so awesome, the truss is just about a foot long, or longer!

There’s a lot of interesting surprises going on with the tomatoes this year. I planted 3 Tomaccio from 3 different supplier. The one from Egmont grow true. The one from TradeMe turned out to be a red pear shape cherry type, and the one from a LSB member had a low growing bushy form. I’ll save seeds from the Egmont and TradeMe and see what they do next season, and get fresh seeds from Egmont again as well, just in case.

Camera 360

I’m getting some pumpkins! Should I think the plant down to just one or two pumpkins?

Camera 360

These white alpine strawberries are the bomb. The run really well and form a good smoldering ground cover. The white strawberries are larger than the red alpine strawberries, and taste just as good too! Due to their smaller size, they hang well and does not lay on the ground. That translates to the strawberries not attracting attention from slugs and slaters.

Camera 360

Finally! The peach tree is doing something to size up the peaches! Now is a good time to ripen up, prices of summerfruits are going up to $8/kg at the supermarket as the season is coming to an end. What my peach tree is doing, is baffling. Cory dropped by the other day to drop off some Blackboy peaches as I asked for some stones to grow some seedlings, would be pretty good as the maiden tree is just around the corner. Blackboy peach is very interesting, port wine flesh, and a reasonably thick skin.

Camera 360

 

What happens when you plant pear trees and cherry trees nearby each other? You get the pear and cherry slug. I am still waiting for some natural predators to show up before I attempt to sprinkle flour over them which is said to help kill them off.

Camera 360

The fertigation drum gets its float valve. That means I don’t have to worry about it running dry anymore as it will fill itself up. Now I just need to wait for the solar air pump to arrive in the mailbox for aerating the liquid.

Camera 360

 

Bought a book today. Have always been fascinated with history relating to the land.

Camera 360

 

And some really cool bookmarks, just because I am reading more than one book at the same time. Retailing Management, Gaia’s Garden, A Short History of New Zealand, etc etc.

Camera 360

 

The Orchard Cottage this week. I’ve got big plans for this place.

