Diversity breeds resilience.

That went thought my head today as I was trying to be not so stubbornly perfect with the things I do in the garden.

2014-03-20 15.06.46

I was reading Gaia’s Garden, and was briefly introduced to keyholes. And I was looking at my raised vege beds, and an inspiration struck. I could turn them into keyholes! That means I am getting 4 additional 90cm x 45cm raised beds which can be planted, and I choose to plant them with a grapevine each which I am going to transplant from the North fence, under planted with lavender and herbs.

2014-03-20 15.07.47

The addition of windbreak on the West fence means that I have made available a rather narrow pathway by the sleepout for planting. In goes boysenberries and hybridberries to be trellis against the fence. Strictly no raspberries even though I love them simply because they send out root runners which suckers.

2014-03-20 15.21.23

 

The Winter Luxury Pie Pumpkin is making a run for it! It’s going yellow now, soon it will be pinkish orange and ready for harvest! I need to research earlier maturing varieties of pumpkins, squash, and watermelon which would be more suited for my region.

2014-03-20 15.23.18

The bumble bees are addicted to the sunflower. They just hang out there for all the while ignoring me while I was taking plenty of photos of them.

2014-03-20 16.58.10

 

Remember a while back I bought a McGregor daisy weeder? Well, its a tool that is meant to draw up the weed along with its taproot, and it didn’t work as designed half the time, and I ended up using the spaghetti twirl motion. I’m not blaming McGregor, I have other daisy weeders and they suffer from the same issue.

2014-03-20 16.58.33

 

So, I took out the grinder and gave it a good grinding. With a very simple idea in mind, I just need a tool that can cut the top off the weeds along with a bit of root with it.

2014-03-20 17.00.20

 

This is the Thistle Chisel, or Thistle Jabber. It worked, as intended! Just jab the thistle slightly below soil level and the tops come clean off. Useful for area too delicate for the grubber. I can also use this tool to harvest asparagus, I have seen something like this on River Cottage for harvesting asparagus.

2014-03-20 15.16.16

 

The Orchard Cottage this week. Going through another flush of wildflowers.

