Easter is a good time to go bargain hunting at Garden Centers. I must say, it is a fantastic time because the reduced to clear stuff became an even better bargain than a normal day.

2014-04-23 15.28.09

I got some dwarf lavenders for $3, some white currants, a lemon meyer, all healthy but further reduced. Some black raspberries. And I have also dug up the black raspberries in the garden for later planting elsewhere. In the process, I found some blackberries, which I also dug up, read to be planted elsewhere. This weather pattern is sort of perfect for the impatient haphazard trasnplanter. Plenty of gloom, moisture, and humidity.

2014-04-23 15.28.51

I have raised the windbreak on the North fence line to about 50cm. This is no ordinary windbreak. This is part of my flood mitigation plan. This will slow the water down from getting into the property. Behind that windbreak is a raised mound which I am going to do up a Belgian Fence that will have about 67 apple and crabapple trees. I am still contemplating if I should use sandbags or wooden planks to block the driveway gate. My inclination is with sandbags, though more sweat to put in place, it seems to be a more reliable option, independent, and not reliant on the integrity of the posts. I’ll also need to let the grass grow weedy near where the fence touches the ground, they seem to have an anchoring effect in keeping the fence’s integrity, and also provides resistance to water flow.

2014-04-23 15.30.31

Where do I get the soil to mound up for the Belgian Fence? Coincidentally, I’m doing some swales in the forest garden. So, those beautiful topsoil has got somewhere to go. And these are beautiful topsoil indeed, filled with earthworms, great color, great structure, much better than what I started off with. All the swales on this part of the forest garden will be connected, and will hopefully be connected to the larger part of the forest garden. Here we see the figure eight that circles the healthy apples and heritage plums. Still a work in progress, I need to level them out.

2014-04-23 15.29.36

Haphazard transplanting is like my second nature. 28 strawberry plants, some were tiny runners, with minimal amount of roots, severed from their parents, and seated into the soil. They are all looking good thanks to this weather pattern that we are having. I think the varieties I have in there are Seascape, Camarosa, Temptation, and Sunset. I decided not to put in the pink flowered one as that was just a novelty factor.

2014-04-23 15.36.02

The tomatoes in the greenhouse needed lots of love after much neglect. So, my colleague suggested that I roast them and preserved them in olive oil, which is what I was planning to do until I had a real good look at them tomatoes. Nope, all that rain had done plenty of damage, its time to put them into the compost bin.

2014-04-23 16.22.40

Not all of them made it into the compost bin. Some plants are still good to go for a while. I am saving seeds from Black Cherry, Black Zebra, Indigo Rose, Orange Fleshed Purple Ripple, Red Currant, Yellow Currant, Super Snow White, Tomaccio, and Pear Shaped Tomaccio. I’ll need to add a yellow cherry or cocktail type to my repertoire next season. Have also collected a potato fruit which I will save seed from and grow potato from aerial seeds.

2014-04-23 16.23.34

Hopefully, these mini capsicums will ripen up for me to save the seeds for next season. Need some naturalizing work done.

2014-04-23 16.23.02

Year 1, you plant a clove of garlic. It formed a clump, but you left it in the ground. Year 2, they sprouted again. What will result in Year 3?

2014-04-23 15.34.51

I found another pumpkin in the garden, after the flood. I harvested the other one, roasted it in the oven. It was smooth, but it wasn’t very sweet. Perhaps, it needs more ripening? I’ll keep this other one on the ground for longer.

2014-04-23 15.36.45

Amazing autumn foliage from the blueberries. They love their pots.

2014-04-23 15.31.15

Will the bumble bees perhaps leave me a jar of honey on my door steps one day for making the forest garden bee friendly?

2014-04-23 18.04.10

Accumulated rainfall this week, 64mm. Oh look! There’s an earwig behind! I almost forgot to do the reading, ran out just now to take this shoot and reset the rain gauge. It started to drizzle again.

2014-04-23 15.32.38

The Orchard Cottage this week. I managed to get a load of firewood organized for next week. Side note, I am really grateful that I am given the opportunity to experience this experience. Thank you!

