Autumn is the time of the year to setup the garden up to ready for Winter hibernation and raring to go for next season. Its also time to plant Spring bulbs. I’ve planted 80 Daffodils and 80 Tulips yesterday, I got them cheap during the Easter sale. Last year I got 50 Bluebells for 72 cents each. This year, I got the Daffodils and Tulips for 50 cents each, pretty good deal there. Until I heard CRT farm store was selling them cheaper, I will find out tomorrow. The plan is to plant some each year and soon I will have masses in the forest garden. I’ve also got 100 cloves of Elephant Garlic coming this way, they have beautiful purple flowers, apart from being edible, these can go along the Belgian fence mound. And also 100 Daffodil Erlicheer bulbs from NZ Bulbs. The Daffodils are going into the smaller trees area of the forest garden while the Tulips went into the nut groove where the Bluebells were planted last season.

Side note. Never ever buy that Gardman Bulb Planter you saw on the shelf. The metal bend on the first use, and the plastic broke on the second attempt. If you know me, you know I am not the strongest person on Earth. I use a narrow spade instead which I use for planting plants in plugs.

2014-05-08 14.09.37

I’ve put up a leveled string line, seems that I need to mound the far side higher before I can get stuck into planting a cover. I’ve also got more currants to go in between those fruit trees along this row now. I think I might have just about every variety of currants one can buy in New Zealand right here at the Orchard Cottage.

2014-05-08 14.12.11

When you are pushing the boundaries of your micro-climate, you got to take it step by step, even if you are impatient, just like me. This is the spot where I am establishing the subtropical guild. There’s already a pair of Avocado Hass and Avocado Bacon, a little Kaffir Lime, and a Meyer Lemon. There’s plan for two Mountain Paw Paw, a Cherimoya, a Banana, three Tamarillo, and two Passionfruit to go in Spring. The support species in here are the Tagasaste Tree Lucerne, Ovens Wattle, Bambusa Multiplex, Feijoas, and Figs. I might also fit Kumquat in there. There’s also the crazy idea of using plenty of cabbage, lettuce, and cauliflower trimmings that I can get my hands on from the shop as mulch.

2014-05-08 14.12.36

Bambusa Multiplex, Wong Tsai on the front and Gracillima on the back, sheltered by Tagasaste Tree Lucerne. These cold hardy not very tall clumping bamboo will eventually shelter the Passionfruit that is going to be planted in the tires. And provide me with garden stakes as well.

2014-05-01 14.00.46

My supply of firewood, 3 cubic metres of Macrocarpa and 3 cubic metres of Old Man Pine. This will be more than enough to get me through Winter.

2014-05-08 14.08.55

Rainfall this week. Very little.

20140508-205610.jpg

A panoramic view. The swales in the main part of the forest garden is completed, and sown with Lucerne and White Alyssum. The extension to the larger forest garden has been marked and ready to be dug. Those 80 Daffodil bulbs were planted on the edge of the three round plots.

2014-05-08 14.11.08

The Orchard Cottage this week.

