I managed to kill the old weather station transmitter by putting in the batteries the wrong way round. It stopped transmitting after that. Maybe I should take it apart and perform an exploratory surgery. Who knows… the outdoor motion sensor light started working again today, I discovered that when I turned on the wrong switch accidentally. Plenty of surprises around.

2014-05-14 16.48.24

Rainfall this week, 18mm. It always seem to rain on my day off work. I really do want to go out and do some digging. Hopefully, tomorrow.

2014-05-09 16.07.10

However, the rain does not stop me from doing work in the garden. I did some fencing.

2014-05-14 17.04.52

The only thing I paid for is the wooden stake, wire, gudgeon plate mounted pins, and screws. The bamboo is recycled, and the gates too. Makes those fences really cheap. And natural. Its my way of poultry fencing. Or sort of, just to keep Caesar out. The ducks are still another season away.

2014-05-14 16.57.53

I’ve decided to redirect all the roof water into the swales. Repurpose a 20L Seasol container to contain the rainwater and channel it out into the swale. I intend to run drip lines through the swales which will be connected to the roof water diversion.

20140514-233302.jpg

Panorama of the forest garden. The White Alyssum and Lucerne seeds that I have sown in the swales have germinated into many little seedlings!

2014-05-14 16.52.02

The Orchard Cottage this week. Hopefully a bit more progress next week.

