Last Thursday, something happened. It had me delighted!

image

We have quite a lengthy period of hail, tiny hail, and the ground is just covered in tiny ice balls!

2014-08-14 16.12.47

Nothing stopped me from getting out into the garden to be in the midst of all the hailing action. To me, this is one of the amazing wonders of Mother Nature. The valley doesn’t go white very often…

2014-08-14 16.21.21

Caesar giving me the intelligent look, telepathically telling me the greens are going to be spotty after this from the hail.

2014-08-20 15.28.24

Rainfall this week, 5mm. Weekly high of 18.7dC and low of -2.5dC.

2014-08-20 15.27.38

I have trimmed all the corner stakes down to just 1m above the raised beds. Visually, it helps open up the field at eye level. I am going to run lengths of rope around the corner stakes to train the table grapes onto them. The weedmat covered area have also been reduced by 1.8m as I have altered the layout of the future vege garden.

2014-08-20 16.34.30

The great thing about planning ahead, way ahead, is that it gives a lot more room to deliberate, and to change things around, and budgeting. So, in a bid to cut cost, I’ve decided not to build a larger mikroclima greenhouse, instead, I’m going to modify the existing one which will also comfortably fit in a dwarf Bearrs Lime and dwarf Yen Ben Lemon side by side. The space infront, I have the option to build a 2.7m x 1.8m agphane cloche, fully covered, ideal for growing peppers. Also means that I don’t have to move some raised beds around.

2014-08-20 15.33.05

The Gold Bar and Gold Strike Apricots have started with full on bud movement. One flower has opened. Apricots are quite early flowering, and hence, the importance of choosing a less frost prone location.

2014-08-20 15.34.47

The Iona Grape is the first with bud burst. Perhaps, it is in a nice cosy spot, right in front of the dilapidated sleepout.

2014-08-20 15.37.19

The tulips are starting to come out of the ground! Yays!

2014-08-20 15.33.32

Pretty pansies parading underneath the apricot trees.

2014-08-20 15.38.36

Found this interesting little weedy plant in the ground. The purple flowers at the top, with the young  foliage at the top having a purplish hue too.

Just thinking out loud, the collector in me would like to have more grapevines. As if 7 is not enough. There’s a few places they can go in the garden… Not anytime soon… But just thinking out loud. Just how intensively can I plant them? Vertical trellis, with lavender underneath. Hmmm… I’ll spend some time dreaming about it.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week.

