This morning I received an email from Grant of Thunder Mountain to inform me that shipment of Myrobalan rootstock was delayed because his supplier managed to freeze them to death in refrigeration. And he asked me if I wanted a refund… Hang on?! I didn’t order any Myrobalan rootstock! So I range him up, and realized there was a mix up and my 100x mm106 rootstock somehow showed up as 100x Myrobalan rootstock on his system, some gremlins somewhere. He’s going to check if he’s got enough to dispatch to me and I have let him know its ok to mix in nSpy and m26.

I realized at this point that if I wasn’t able to forgive him for the mistake, how can I expect others to forgive me if I make a mistake? Sure it puts a dent in my plan, or at this point, it might, but on the bright side of things, at least I won’t have in my own silly attempt grafted apple scionwood onto Myrobalan rootstock and wonder why I have 100% grafting failure in Summer. The other day I stumbled upon this quote, “There’s 7 billion people on Earth and you let 1 person piss you off?”. That’s a bloody good quote.

2014-09-10 15.16.39

The weather this week… Well, the internet connection has been playing up, so the data on WUnderground wasn’t that good. I had to refer to Acu-Link for the data, which has got no decimal point for temperatures. Rainfall this week, 1.5mm,  high of 21dC, and low of 1dC. That’s my new sensor in the Subtropical area. It only records temperature and humidity and transmit the data to the bridge. I managed to recycle an old Stevenson screen to mount the sensor.

2014-09-10 15.08.47

As we settled into the first week of Spring, I realized that my vege patch has been quite of a flop in terms of Winter crop. No sprouts from the Flower Sprouts, the Brussels Sprouts remained a mere 10cm tall, the Baby Beetroots remained a seedling for the whole Winter, and all I get is a miserable 3 servings of baby mescluns. That, pretty much sums it all up. On the other hand, the garlic that I have left in the ground over last Summer all came back strong this season, a consolation prize. On the other hand, silverbeets and perpetual spinach were going crazy in the chooks and ducks patch, at least I know where to get leafy greens when the world ends today.

2014-09-10 15.23.01

Well, I hoped I will fare better this season with all the improvements I have done to the raised beds. Photo above is for the sweetcorn germination test. The one on the bottom left is Painted Mountain (Kaituna 2013), which is the seeds saved from last season. Top left is the original Painted Mountain sent to me by Mark Christensen in 2013. Bottom right is Early Gem. The other two is Rainbow Inca, which is the core variety of my breeding project. Here, I am trying to cross Early Gem, Silver Platinum, Golden Bantam, and Painted Mountain into Rainbow Inca. And then, see what happens. I have already started sowing the corns, I split the plot into 8 lots, which means 8 weeks of sowing, and if the frost wipes out the initial 4 weeks of work, I have another 4 more weeks to resow which still keeps me ahead of Canterbury Day.

2014-09-10 15.14.05

Done the grape trellis. I started the design process with rigid rules. Then, I proceed to question and challenge the rules that I have set. And I break the rules and set new ones. And I break them again, and again, and again, until I am satisfied.

2014-09-10 14.56.26

And this is the end result. 2 sets of 2 trellis. Originally, each trellis is on its own and space 90cm apart. The first change in the thought process is that they don’t have to be 90cm apart, then, they don’t have to be equally distanced. The second change, is they don’t have to all be apart, I could join them up. The end result is a layout that is in harmony with the rest of the forest garden. Each trellis runs 2.4m, designed for single cordon system, that allows for 2 vines, high density planting. Right now, I am just starting with 1 vine for each trellis.

  • Moores Diamond – A hardy variety resistant to fungal attacks, ripening in mid March. A table grape with good flavour, white flesh and skin. Makes a dry white wine and also champagne.
  • Schuyler – A regular cropping outdoor, table grape, bears from first season. Med/large berries, jet-black with heavy bloom. Flavour neutral pleasant. Early ripening.
  • Urbana – Good crops of large cherry red berries. Fruit is thick skinned with a Jelly texture and an exquisite sweet Lubrusca flavour. vigorous and disease resistant late season variety.
  • Niagara – A very early white dessert grape, which is very sweet with a good mild flavor. One of the few dessert grapes that can be grown organically making it a must for the home gardener. Ripens early/mid March.

The varieties are chosen for their disease resistance, ease of growing, and bonus for outdoor cropping selection. If I am to do high density planting, then I’m going to have to pick from the following:

  • Bishop Pompalier – A large black grape, sweet with a full flavour , excellent as a dessert grape. Originally from France, this variety came out from France with Bishop Pompallier , and came to Koanga via the Andrews homestead in Kohukohu. Disease resistant, ripe in March.
  • Torere – Tiny but very sweet thin skinned black grapes, outstanding table grape. These plants were grown from a 100 year old vine that covers over 1/2 an acre in Torere in the eastern Bay of Plenty. They are like currant grapes and may well be.
  • EA Robinson – A black outdoor table grape raised in Palmerston North presumably of a Hamburg type. Fruits very successfully and ripens well, fruiting twice.
  • New York Muscat – Good crops of medium red/black grapes held in loose bunches. They have a pleasant Muscat flavour with a “jelly” texture. It ripens early to mid season. A Muscat flavour is one with pronounced pungent, sweet floral aromas
  • Buffalo – A high quality Table Grape with reddish-black fruit with an attractive bloom. The flesh is green, tender and juicy with a hint of spice. Regular generous cropper that shows good disease resistance. Ripe around Feb-March. Plant in a sunny well drained position. Deciduous.
  • Steubens – This grape is recommended for the home gardener as it is easy to grow and shows good disease resistance. The grapes are reddish-black with a sweet and spicy flavour. Ripe around March-April. Plant in a sunny well drained spot and winter prune only. Deciduous.
  • Pappa Jack – Very large, very sweet dark red brown berries of excellent flavour. Hardy and disease resistant.

I can’t make up my mind, pick 3 out of 6. I definitely want the New York Muscat.

2014-09-10 15.01.21

Perhaps, the answer will become clear next season. Meanwhile, the pears are flowering! The apples are starting to move. Cherries are having swollen buds. Female flowers on Hazelnuts are opening, with their little red tongues sticking out. Roses are growing with more vigour. The weather seems really optimistic. Just about too optimistic to be truly optimistic. Ya get what I mean. One always have to be prepared for the next hard frost, or the second Once-In-A-100-Year-Flood within a year. October 2011, August 2012, June 2013, April 2014, noticed the flood event is getting earlier and earlier?

2014-09-10 14.59.04

The tulips row are coming through now, ready to start the show. Just about all the planted daffodils have come up too, ready to start flowering soon. I have to be very careful when walking about the forest garden being careful not to trample on emerging bulbs.

2014-09-10 15.12.01

The blueberries are starting to flower. Unfortunately, iPhone sucks at taking macro shots, I would love to do a lot more close up. Fortunately, mum and dad is coming to visit in Summer, and I am going to ask them to bring my Canon 50D over, with whatever lens that my sister is not using. I’ll use the DSLR exclusively for macro as it is too heavy to lug around for anything else. I am so over over-sized heavy bulky camera with huge lens.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. Amazing day, beautiful weather, I went for a long walk doing a loop up the hill and down another hill. No camera, no iPhone, just me and my dog Caesar. If the weather is awesome tomorrow, I’ll explore another track which I have not gone down/up before.

