The gutsy wind tends to annoy the hell out of me. It limits outdoor activities, not that it stopped me from going for my morning run this morning, some projects had to be held off. I kept waking up at night to the howling wind. I think I might consider switching bedroom in the future, but I’ll have to paint the other room first.

2014-10-01 16.33.56

This Tree Lucerne got blown over. The high winds on Monday did a good defoliation job on the Lemon Yen Ben and Lime Bearrs that I was growing in a pot and decided to let them hang out outside. Same to the coffee plant that had the younger leaves shredded. Top recorded wind speed on Monday was 51.5kmh. I need my shelters.

2014-10-01 16.28.13

The weather this week, 0.3mm of rain accumulated. High of 22.7dC and a low of -1.4dC.

2014-10-01 16.28.34

Look at that Belgian Fence! It took me a whole day to get all the grafting done. I figured that in the future, if I come across more ancient varieties, I can always modify the Belgian Fence planting to be doubles, meaning there will be two different varieties off a single stock, at the Y intersect.

2014-10-01 16.29.18

Half of them grafted onto rootstocks in planter bags. I can only hope for a 50% strike rate.

2014-10-01 16.30.45

Don’t believe it when peaches and nectarines varieties were advertised as leaf curl resistant. This season, I’m going to try something different. I’m not going to remove any curly leaf. Maybe leaving it on will trigger the plant to produce some internal chemical or biological reaction. Like us falling sick and the body produces its own antibody to combat sickness.

2014-10-01 16.36.11

The shellout pea that I sown in the strawberries bed. Its got very interesting smaller leaf offshoots. I’ve never seen anything like this before.

2014-10-01 16.36.31

The sweetcorn project is slowly starting up with this little seedling corn popping through the compost bag. 4 more weeks of sowing to go. The pumpkin, squash, and watermelon seeds will be sown on Labour Day. The beans sowing cycle will also start then.

2014-10-01 16.38.27

Apricots flowering. Beautiful white flowers. Somehow, apricots seem to be very prone to silver leaf disease. One of them on the West fence has got it, and I had to pruned some of the branches out. Maybe I’ll try hammering a copper nail into the tree. On the other hand, I hope its just false silver leaf disease. True silver leaf disease will have dark stain in the wood when cut.

2014-10-01 16.33.10

The bluebells have started flowering in the forest garden. They are so small, so tiny, so easily overlooked. I hope they will divide well into enchanting masses.

2014-10-01 16.36.53

Caesar loves eating grass. Or at least, lawn clippings.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. I’ve been doing my due diligence giving those thistles a good hoe. I’ll also need to get a billhook to rid myself of those wild mustard weed. I can’t find my Niwashi Shark, its gone missing. Hence, I’m upgrading myself to a Fiskars Brush Hook X3, a reminiscence of my younger years out hiking in the bush with a parang (machete) as a sidearm. We used it to make chopsticks in the jungle for our instant noodles.

