Received an email the other day from Koanga Institute, part of the content is about the potato trial. In the past, all you do is pay $40 to sponsor a variety, and that’s about it, at the end of the season they published the trial results. This year, they decided, and I quote “Everybody who sponsors a potato this year will receive a kilo of potatoes of the one(s)  they sponsor, that you could either eat or grow! We’ll send them out when we harvest them in February.”. That’s new. In the past, I sponsored Paraketia, this year however, I decided to go for Whataroa, as its the type of potato that is more suited to my culinary style, “Great for making oven-baked chips”. So which is your spud? Click here to sponsor one.

2014-10-08 14.52.18

15mm of rain has accumulated this week. 10mm of that, was accumulated within an hour. The high of the week is 23dC, while the low is 0dC.

2014-10-08 14.53.16

I’ve got a spare Albion Strawberry, and I decided that I will attempt hanging strawberry planters again. I started contemplating what sort of planter I should use this time, and saw the cute little 1L watering can that I have by the window sill. This cute little thing is just ok at doing the watering can job as the spout doesn’t work that great. Its new role, really makes me smile, childishly, like a kid, ear to ear, now I’m smiling at my laptop just looking at the photo, mum and dad used to think I’m up to no good when I’m smiling at the screen back home, lol.

bdab828a-99f8-4395-be30-867d3408a3e3

Guess what?! There’s 3 other types! Maybe I should start a family, it would be so kiddish cool. I use a coir and peat mix, and a teaspoon of water holding crystals. And 3 other variety of strawberries. Or even tumbling tomatoes. Or the ever so elusive Rhodochiton Purple Bells that I have tried for years and been unsuccessful.

2014-10-05 18.59.30

Daylight savings kicking in means that when I come back from work in the evening, I can still see the sun filtering through the Willow trees.

2014-10-05 18.58.58

And wander about the forest garden, marveling at the amazing beauty of nature.

2014-10-07 16.30.21

Tulips come in so many different shapes and shades. This is just lily like.

2014-10-07 16.33.19

I planted a whole line of them. And more around some of the nut trees. I’m definitely adding more Spring bulbs next season.

2014-10-08 14.58.40

What do you call this? Pink frills?

2014-10-08 14.56.06

Beautiful champagne color poppies.

2014-10-07 16.56.32

Nothing defines orange better than Calendula.

2014-10-07 16.56.02

And this Cornflower out blue Monday blues.

2014-10-08 14.56.48

I think Caesar has a better view of the forest garden than me. Bluebells, poppies, and tulips.

2014-10-08 15.00.41

Lapin Cherry flowering. This, I am training into a trellis beside the Dawson Cherry, both on Edabriz interstem rootstock. I was reading a commercial growing magazine the other day, and realized that some orchardists are moving towards a 2D trellis system. I think we saw the same potential adapting from the grapevine intensive monoculture.

2014-10-08 15.02.37

The apple trees are in bloom now. Beneath it, a White Borage, a bit rare but I’ve got a few self-seeded plants around the forest garden.

2014-10-08 14.52.52

The Pinot Gris from Okana Vineyard finally waking up. This year is production year. I’ll train the shoots over the 2 wires on each side, they can have grapes hanging down and I’ll throw a net over them.

2014-10-08 15.04.51

More sweetcorn is popping out of the compost bags. I’m into my 5th week of sowing now. The soil temperature is coming up nicely too, well above 10dC now, its time to sow the sunflower seeds as well.

2014-10-08 15.05.29

I poked some second year wood of currants into the ground, and viola! It rooted! Then I realized, I poked it into the same spot where I poke the stone of a Blackboy Peach. The Blackboy Peach seedling is just popping out now. Amazing how they punch through the pebbles.

2014-10-08 15.14.42

That’s all the tomatoes and capsicums seedlings. The big pot of tomato is Tomaccio, I bought 2 plants from the garden centre, and potted them into the same pot. All the tomatoes are grown two in a hole this season. I think I’ve made very good progress with the capsicums this year compare to the past. I guess the key is to keep potting up. The Sungold Tomato seedlings don’t look that great, I hope they will grow out of it. I realized that the stronger varieties are the ones that I have save seeds from. They seem to naturalized really quickly to local conditions. More reasons to save your own seeds whenever possible.

2014-10-08 14.54.55

This a a chard, going to seed. Its in the poultry patch. Not that there’s any chickens, or ducks in sight, there will be some in the future. Behind it, the kiwiberries are just waking up.

2014-10-08 14.53.46

A very sorry sight of the lemon and lime that were ravaged by those gusty wind last week. They are now placed in a sheltered area. They were once just cut back to a 12 inch whip and been indoors ever since, they done well indoors, and their foliage were not grown for the outdoors. Hence, I’ll leave them outdoors now, and I’ve got plans for them at the end of the season, they are coming indoors no more.

2014-10-05 19.00.43

Caesar is looking longingly at the playmates on the other side of the fence.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. I’m thinking of taking the weeping flowering cherry out of the pot, and planting it back in the forest garden. Plans for tomorrow, a lot of hedge trimming, and I got to give the wet room a good clean. I’ve sprayed the driveway and some other areas with pre-emergent today, its a 12 months thing, but I’m not sure if it will last for 12 months. I’ve also inserted tricodowels into the Goldbar and Goldstrike Apricots to treat for Silver Leaf disease, I hope it works. It’s not easy drilling holes into apricot trees, the wood is hard!

Come again next week and you might see more kiddy planter pots!

