How hard is it to kill roses? I managed to somehow kill 3 of them. 2 climbing rose, Lydia, which I am not going to replace, and a Red Piccadilly Hybrid Tea, which I will be replacing. I also have a Grape Schuyler which has not waken up from dormancy yet. I wonder…

2014-11-12 11.08.42

Rainfall this week, 5.75mm. High of 24.8dC and low of 0.9dC. Is this as close as it gets or will there be a really late frost after Show Day? The weather has been kind to me again. Just when I wake up in the morning yesterday, it started to pour down. It decided to stop when its time for my morning run.

2014-11-12 11.10.50

All the tomatoes and capsicums are now in the greenhouse. I felt really good about the capsicums as this is the first time I have put so much love and effort into them to get them into such stronger and larger grade before planting out. These are Capicums Rainbow Mix and Capsicums Jingle Belles. I fully intend to save seeds from them and get them localized. From experience with saving seeds with the tomatoes, the localized version always germinate faster and are stronger too. Now, I just need the last lot of basil seedlings to go in between the capsicums.

2014-11-12 11.23.41

 

In the Strawberries bed, the shellout pea is just ready to bulk up. These dwarf peas are really interesting that they don’t have the usual tendrils. The bonus side to it is that they don’t make a twine-y mess getting all tangled up with the strawberries.

2014-11-12 11.24.54

Siamese twins strawberries.

2014-11-12 11.27.08

The pumpkin seedlings are starting to come up now! With regards to the sweetcorn, I realized that even though I have sown the first few lots, before Labour Day, the color of their foliage don’t look very healthy, and they take a while to come out, most likely due to the still cold weather. Those that I sow after Labour Day are looking far stronger and less beaten up. Something to take into mind next year.

2014-11-12 11.29.50

Good fruit set on the apple trees. I have started thinning them now. Some trees did not fruit though, its probably due to their second flowering last season due to the warmish Autumn and mild Winter.

2014-11-12 11.31.24

I was surprised to discovered this Tagasaste Tree Lucerne is still alive. It was blown down by the wind early Spring, and I decided to cut it back severely to somehow balance the top with whats left intact beneath the soil. It worked, and the tree is going to grow again.

2014-11-11 17.08.28

The first rose of the season!

image

The Soldier Poppies are now starting to dot the wildflowers meadow.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. Letting things grow.

