The grass grubs are turning into bronze beetles and have started their mating flights. I have started seeing chewed up foliage among some of the plants. However, I have something up my sleeves, I have started adding neem oil to my fertigation brew a few weeks ago in anticipation of this. If this idea actually works, each bronze beetles will only be able to take a few bites before the neem start working its magic and cause the beetles to stop feeding. Not that I really care much about the damage they do, you can remove all the grass grubs on your patch but more will always drop by from the neighbor’s patch.

2014-11-19 16.57.46

Rainfall this week, 8.5mm. High of 22.8dC, and a low of 1.4dC which happened today. Last night’s storm came through with plenty of rainfall and hail, followed by a cold snap in the morning.

2014-11-19 16.45.45

The forbidden fruits have arrived in temperate Canterbury. Banana Goldfinger, Banana Ladyfinger, Rainbow Valley Paw Paw, Cherimoya Perla, Wild Tamarillo, Yellow Tamarillo, and Passionfruit Sweet Granadilla. And they are not going to be planted in a greenhouse, or be kept indoors. The objective is to keep the plant alive, with the occasional harvest every few years when cosmic events aligned and make it conducive to be a fruitful season. Do take this with an open mind where anything is possible given the right brew. I know, many have tried and failed, yet Einstein didn’t stop trying having himself failed multiple times.

2014-11-19 16.46.58

In the greenhouse, Tomaccio are starting to set. Interesting to notice how the truss set out into a Y-shape.

2014-11-19 16.50.43

So, the little Walnut tree has decided to start flowering this year. They were growing beautifully. When I got them last year, they were just an unassuming whip.

image

I guess its time to go out with the bill hook again and start whacking those hedge mustard. I’m going to resow sunflowers again, hopefully today. The last sowing is unsuccessful, with multiple possible indication for failure, one of it being sowing too early. This time, I will pre-soak the seeds, and give them a bit of a mulch.

On the sweetcorn breeding plot, I was amazed by the germination viability of all the pumpkin seeds as I have only sown a seed into each hole and they have all germinated! Some of the watermelon seeds have germinated too, and I have resow some which have yet to come up with pre-soaked seeds.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. The Grape Schuyler is still dormant, I tried bending a cane until it cracks open, the inner stem is still green showing that the plant is still very much alive, but still sleeping?!?!?! I’ve got some more Tree Lucerne to plant out, and time to do a proper record on the apple grafting to see which one is successful and which is not. Hopefully, I’ll have time later to head over to Prices Valley to get some farm hand experience working with lambs.

