Its drizzling now. I am grateful that I managed to fit my morning run in before the rain. It appears that the weather wasn’t warm enough to ripen up the stonefruits done in Central Otago, hence, lack of supply, high demand, price increased. At the Orchard Cottage however, my Lapin cherry would have been ripe for picking today. However! Some wood pigeon decided to jump the gun and ate it all a day too early! I’ll throw a net over them next year.

2014-12-18 09.05.22

Rainfall this week, 7mm. We have a high of 25.3dC and a low of 3.3dC. On the bright side, this year we are going into a sunny Christmas, albeit a windy one.

2014-12-17 11.44.34

This cauliflower came out of nowhere. All along, its just plenty of green, and then one day, it just puff up like a popcorn! That’s about 2 meals there, and some earwigs for protein. They would make a good Asian stir fry or braised in osyter sauce or whatever, I’ve don’t have all the other ingredients, so I just cut them into smaller pieces and roast it in the oven with eggs. Might add some sliced bacon or ham in and see what happens. I am after all, the guy who cooks everything in the oven.

2014-12-17 11.47.59

If you are wondering what I have done to the tractor tire, here it is. The pumpkins and squash on the side, and the watermelon in the middle, and I used the propagating tray’s cover over them. Next season I am going to plant a group of figs in there.

2014-12-17 11.43.03

The peaceful Peace.

image

The Spring flowers are about done. The foliage are going through a transition stage, towards the color of Summer, yellow. The poppies will be going to seed now, and the seed heads will shake about in the wind, creating little melodies of their own.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. How’s your Christmas shopping going? I’ve just about done mine, just need to buy a few things for myself. I wonder what will I get from my secret santa this year.

