The cloud came in but no rain has fallen. It was just gloom, like the gloom of drought. Now the cloud is gone, and rays of sunlight pushes through again. All good to those who can irrigate without being held back by water restrictions. Out here at the Orchard Cottage, I will take it as a blessing as the drying out helped to put a check on weed growth. Everything else that needs water, I have irrigation systems in place.

image

You can just see the dryness in the panoramic view. Only the deep rooted species are going to make it through. Or those who happened to be in the path of the drip lines that runs in the forest garden. Our rainfall this week is just 0.3mm, a high of 30.8dC and low of 7.7dC.

The sky was clouded up with increased humidity yesterday, but not a single drop of rain has fallen. I see that as an opportunity to pour some water on. My newly purchased impulse sprinkler did the job quite well giving the greater food forest a good drench.

image

I went out and check on the guerilla grafting of Angelina Burdett plum. It is doing well, I may need to hack the rest of the tree off to force more growth into the new wood.

image

And so I noticed those wild plum trees have got plums on them and they ripen to a much darker shade of red, like maroon. I wonder how they taste like as the birds often got to them before I do.

image

In the greenhouse, where I also planted some garlic from last season, they have gone to seed and the little bulbils are all over. I’ll need to collect them and plant them next season.

image

Checking on the Tomaccio.

image

This Tomaccio is a F2. I grew the F1 from seed last season, and save the seeds. True to seed indeed.

image

Grafted Goldnugget I bought from Oderings.

image

Very beautiful pattern on the Black Zebra. I might, from my seed saving selection, has inadvertently selected for smaller fruits. Which is good for me, I like them small.

image

I think this is the Pepper Jingle Belles, very advanced in terms of growth.

image

And this would be the Pepper Bell Colour mix. Or it might be the other way round, but I think I am right the first time round.

image

When the raised beds are just not big enough, everyone decides to do a runner.

image

Prickly chestnuts.

image

Obviously, I forgot to thin this Devonshire Quarrendon.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. I might be getting my hands on a DIY soil test kit do some lab work. You can’t improve what you don’t measure.

I am very excited about the prospect of getting ducks in next season. I am definitely on to 1 male Muscovy and 2 females. And another 2 to 3 more layers that doesn’t fly, probably Orpington.

 

 

