What happens in Autumn? Daylight savings ends. For the forest gardener, its a time for contemplation, and action.

image

 

The sweetcorn land race project has come to the seed saving phase. After last year’s absolute failure, I figured out I better smarten up, make some changes to the process. Still, some boo boo here and there, but my backup plan works.

 

image

 

I’ve got some Painted Mountain, Rainbow Inca, Early Gem, Golden Bantam, and Silver Platinum.

 

image

 

I peeled off most of the outer husks leaving just one layer of it on, pop them into the oven at the lowest setting with the door slightly prop open for the initial drying. Then they go into onion bags and hang dry, indoors, where it is dry. I’ll probably not back cross Painted Mountain next season. Golden Bantam might be a sweeter candidate compare to Rainbow Inca. I just hope the seeds will germinate next season.

image

One of the pumpkins coloring up nicely now, I’ll just leave it out a bit more.

image

The grafted apples are being dried out, I’ve stopped the irrigation now, they are just relying on the weather, and start going into dormancy.

image

Belgian Fence gets a work on. I totally did not anticipate the need for bamboo stakes, turns out I needed it, and I have plenty of it. It’s looking magnificent at the front.

image

I’ve sown a lot of sunflower, and only this came up. Sort of like a consolation prize. I’ll do better next season.

image

Borage, somehow, I only know one way to take photos of these, and its like the up skirt method, lol! If anyone know any less perverse way, do enlighten me.

image

This Calendula will make a yummy edible flower!

image

That’s it at the Orchard Cottage this week. Behind the scene, a lot more is happening. I’ll catch up next week. My weather station has gotten the fever, the temperature sensor has gone wonky. Sometimes it works, sometimes it don’t, and I don’t know why. All the other sensors are working fine though. Till then, see you again next week.

