What a week! That cold snap came through and dropped a lot of sleet and hail all night long.

image

That’s 41mm of rainfall there. We have a high of 19dC and a low of 3dC.

image

Work continued on the Belgian Fence. I did a stock take on all the grafts that did not take that need replacing, and those that are marginal and will also be replaced if I have healthy backup stock. Overall, they fared quite well and I will have surplus stock to sell and give away.

image

I’ve moved the Lemon Meyer and Orange Cara Cara into the half wine barrel out at the back in the subtropical zone. They will do better there in the calmer micro climate.

image

The hot spot at the front had a wee bit of rearranging, I’ve moved the blueberries into where the Lemon Meyer and Orange Cara Cara came out. The pots containing raspberries have been reorganized. I’ve also cut back the raspberries entirely and top the pots full with compost.

image

The capsicums in the greenhouse is still producing. There’s a brown one waiting to ripen up, and I will save seeds from that. Are these Pepper Jingle Belles or Sweet Bell Pepper Rainbow Mix?

image

I did a broadcast of all my old seeds around the duck area, and here’s some broccoli growing wild. There’s a few more around, the brassicas have done very well.

image

Things are slowing down and daylight is shortening. I’m mainly focused on carting in pebbles and mulch. And have some bits and pieces of plants coming for next season. I guess I will be planting out the rooted currants and rhubarb next week as well as replacing plants in the Belgian Fence. Some Tagasaste and bird and bee friendly NZ natives from Southernwoods in early May. Two more bambusa to go into the Southern hedgerow as well.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. I’m still waiting for the pumpkins to ripen up. I’ve only got one Australian Butternut, which I believe is quite ready, but I will leave it out there and pick it just before the frost. The Pumpkin Thelma Sanders Sweet Potato ran rampant, some are coloring up while the vine is slowly dying back, I’m not sure how many will make it. Squash Honeynut is still quite green, I’m concerned if they will color up in time.

When the pumpkins are in, I can start working on the giant cloche as well, and reconfigure the existing greenhouse.

