Today is the second time I have hitched a ride in my entire life. It took me half an hour walk to get onto the main road, and 15 minutes of the thumb and I got myself a ride, who turned out to be the brother of someone who used to work at the orchard. Small world. I am sure I could have gotten a ride a lot earlier if there’s more traffic in the valley, just time of the day where all traffic is just local farmers. Mental note, not much traffic around 2pm to hitch a ride.

image

12.5mm of rain this week. High of 18dC and low of 4dC. The oncoming frost event had me typing down some of the Tagasaste Tree Lucerne branches so that they form a canopy over the bananas and paw paws. The growth is quite dense now with a much higher humidity level.

image

What do you do when the weather is drizzling, wet enough to stop you from planting, but not wet enough to keep you out of the garden? I took the hoe out and start attacking the thistles. Its the least I could do, keep them under control.

image

I’m waiting for these Honeynuts to ripen up before I can start clearing away the area and start building the giant cloche.

image

This is an interesting specimen of the Rainbow Inca corn, where the entire cob had dark color kennel.

image

The bamboos have arrived, but they are not labeled. I have a feeling the one on the left is Bambusa gracilis and the one on the right is Bambusa multiplex Alphonse Karr. They are going into the Southern hedgerow, into the bamboo stakes fence. They will make good stakes in the near future.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. Landscaping duties for the next few weeks.

