It’s May now. The final month of Autumn. It seemed to blew right past.

image

Along with it, plentiful of rainfall, 60mm. A high of 16dC and low of 1dC.

image

The Honeynuts seemed to be not ripening up fast enough, so I’m giving it a little bit of help. A frost cloth over it, and the corn stalks bend over the top. Another week or two, hopefully without getting damaged by frost, they will be ripe for harvest.

image

Its great that today wasn’t pouring, I’ve been wanting to do a lot of work last week but its just too wet. Most of the apple trees in the Belgian Fence that needs replacing have been replaced. I realized that half the reason the graft did not take is because the rootstock wasn’t able to establish properly in the ground, poor root system. Hence, the grafts that were grown in planter bags grew much strongly.

image

Had a problem with drying the sweetcorn for seeds. I left a thin layer of husk on, and that’s a mistake. I put a few cobs in an onion bag to hang dry, and that’s a mistake too, close together, not enough air movement, moldy. Here they are, on a rack, and I am drying them in the oven with the door slightly open everyday. Seeds from each cob will be individually packed, and the cob will be photographed. I’ll do better next year.

image

Due to popular request. Or more like mum’s request. I got ginger. The one on the left back, Ginger – Zingiber officinale “Chinese Yellow”. Right front, Ginger – Zingiber mioga “Japanese Ginger”. Despite expert advise that they should be kept indoors, I’ve decided to plant them in the big pots and leave them outside in the berries corner.

image

The bamboo fence, will soon be a real live bamboo fence. Bambusa multiplex Alphonse Karr on the left and Bambusa gracilis (Depanostachyum falcatum) to the right. The Alphonse Karr will be able to give me plenty of tall bamboo stakes in the near future.

image

Some other work being done at the Orchard Cottage. I’ve put a layer of coarse pebbles onto the driveway. Done the edging with some 2 by 2. More coarse pebbles to come to cover the vege garden. A few reason I use coarse pebbles instead of driveway gravel. Most important of all, they don’t get washed away when it floods. Now, I also have my own foot reflexology path. Its cheaper too.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. A few more things to happen. Some native plantings. Line trimming work. And hedge trimming with the pole pruner to do.

