Pardon my England in regards to the title, I just can’t help it. Another killer frost on Friday with a -6dC in town. It definitely felt like Winter at night now. We are in the month of June now, Queen’s Birthday welcomes the Winter. I had a feeling this Winter is going to be a really cold one.

image

This week we have 11mm of rainfall. In the sheltered Subtropical Station, we recorded a low of -1dC and a high of 15dC.

image

With Winter starting, I have decided to round up all the pumpkins and ripen them up indoors. Apparently you can still help the pumpkin to color up with sunlight and warmth.

image

Bringing all the harvest in means that I can now move those compost bags which I grew the sweetcorn and pumpkin in. I have to harvest all the raised beds then, so that I can top up the raised beds with the spent compost in the compost bags.

image

Something else that I started doing as well is to cut back the privet hedge really hard. I pretty much took out half a meter of thickness from the hedge.

image

It will make good mulch and firewood. I am also going to bring down the height of the privet hedge as well after I slim it down.

image

I’m saving the seeds off my sweetcorn. And each cob goes into a separate bag. Here, Silver Platinum specimen 1.

image

Silver Platinum specimen 2.

image

Silver Platinum specimen 3. Stubby and not a bit on the yellow side. Seems to have a heavy degree of cross pollination with another variety.

image

Silver Platinum specimen 4. Skinny.

image

Early Gem specimen 1. The only one, I think we ate the rest.

image

Golden Bantam specimen 1.

image

Golden Bantam specimen 2. A pretty well crossed specimen.

image

Golden Bantam specimen 3. Not a lot of crossing.

image

Rainbow Inca specimen 1. Bendy.

image

 

Rainbow Inca specimen 2. Seem to have cross with Silver Platinum.

image

Rainbow Inca specimen 3. Good shape.

image

Rainbow Inca specimen 4. This is a good looking one.

image

Rainbow Inca specimen 5. Blue corn chips?

image

Rainbow Inca specimen 7. I somehow skipped 6. 7 is as good as it gets. So much for saving the best for last.

image

 

I have also seeds for Pumpkin Australian Butter. Its the tiny one a quarter the size of its big brother of the same variety. I prefer the smaller size single serve pumpkins.

Winter came, I’m going to start building the giant cloche next week. I am not sure if I will finish it completely right away, I might just build the structure, fill it up and grow the three sisters in there again next season.

image

The Orchard Cottage this week. Caesar is really tired, he had a long walk yesterday, and had a good swim in the river today.

